Viva logo

Women and Sex

Because the two can go together.

By Amelia HartPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Let me begin by stating that this article may sound like I hate men but I do not hate men, I love them but I do understand that there is a double standard from both sides and it’s not okay.

Why is it that when a man goes out and sleeps with 2 girls, he's a hero; but a girl who goes out and sleeps with one guy is a slut? Because men want to be the only ones that touch us. Men are attracted to woman that are untouched, because they want to be the ones to show us a good time.

Double standards are very much alive, and it's getting on my last nerve! Women can take as much pleasure in sex as the next man, and that is okay. We have our own fantasies, and just like a man, we're allowed to act on them as we please. We are our own people.

I remember when I lost my virginity, it was with a guy who had a girlfriend (I was young and naïve thinking he'd leave her; typical). He continued to stay with his girlfriend, while dragging me along for an emotional rollercoaster. I finally told him I was going to date other people, and he freaked out! Want to know his reason why he could be in a relationship but I couldn't? Because he was in one before, so it doesn't count. He'd call me a slut whenever I talked about ending things or talked about wanting to date other people.

Men (Let me correct that to SOME Men, before people freak out) whether they know it or not, believe that woman belong to them, that we are meant to take care of them, and carry their children. We shouldn’t make more money than them, or be better than them in anything because it will hurt their ego- and yes I have heard people give advice to women on how to boost a mans ego so he doesn’t feel like less of a man. Why is it our responsibility to make them feel strong? What about making us feel strong?

Woman are stronger than men. I don't say that in an everyday kind of way but we carry a lot of emotional burdens, we are the ones that carry children, raise children, we have to be careful walking around at night, we have to worry about what the world is going to say about us if we end up pregnant at a younger age but... forget about the father right?- he's just a guy right? We're supposed to have the brains to know better? It's not a fair world, it's a mans world but I promise you, we are moving forward and we have more power than men realize.

Us Woman should not settle for less than we deserve, there is going to be that guy that doesn't care who you've slept with, who you've dated, that you can't have an orgasm just from penetration, that you're independent, that you have your own friends and want your own time, because the guy you find will be confident, he won't have a small ego. The men that put us down, are the ones that have such a low ego that they worry about how the other guys were before them.

Women, keep being you, and keep having fun! Life is short, and we don't need to live less than any man. We can do whatever we want. It's sad to say that maybe you will be judged, but just know that it is not okay for you to be judged for being a fun, free spirit who will live the way she wants without anyone telling her what to do!

feminism
1

About the Creator

Amelia Hart

I enjoy writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.