Viva logo

Why you should try period underwear

Another sustainable alternative for your period.

By tracydtnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Why you should try period underwear
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Periods.

A once a month suffering because you don't want to birth a child.

This is a review using ModiBodi's period underwear (also not sponsored).

Why?

I want to implement sustainable habits in my life. This is a stepping stone in exploring sustainable products in my lifestyle.

I remember seeing Safiya Nygaard's period series where she tested out various menstrual products. I was like this is something I should look into. I never committed to it because it is expensive and there was only mensural cups being promoted also didn't search hard enough.

When it comes to going to sustainable/zero waste alternatives, it's an investment.

It's not cheap in the long run when buying sanitary products. I'm like many other people who stock up on products whenever they're on special. The waste from single-use products is crazy that comes from the average years women are on their periods. The plastic waste from pads and tampons accumulates throughout the lifetime someone experiences their menstrual cycle.

Why not the mensural cup?

The mensural cup has been around for a while but I don't like the idea of something being put in there. I could never see myself being comfortable using mensural cups and that's the last thing I would want to feel being on my period.

ModiBodi

There are many more brands out there producing and selling period underwear. I chose ModiBodi because I kept seeing their ads everywhere notably Snapchat props to algorithm I guess...

Modibodi is an Australian business. In light of the panini pandemic, supporting an Aussie business is the way to go.

I was being frugal and bought from the youth range. We're all for saving money, given the times of a recession... They offer a large range of underwear with different styles in cuts of bikini to high-waisted to even lingerie and a vegan options too! Additionally, they sell other period proof products such as swimwear and activewear.

As opposed to many other brands that I looked at, the marketing that ModiBodi does shows positivity, diversity in models and what being on your period is like. It's the real deal and the product that their advertising is relatable for anyone who goes through the dreaded menstrual cycle. Additionally, they have a Give a Pair program where money donated through Modibodi gives people in need pairs of the underwear worldwide.

ModiBodi Packaging by Tracy Nguyen

Packaging:

In the age of becoming sustainable and climate change coming at us. They tick all the boxes from the moment they arrive at your door.

The package came in a compostable satchel and the underwear comes in recyclable cardboard.

A solid A+ rating 🌟

Wear:

It's no different to normal underwear.

The gusset area that acts a the pad doesn't make it any different from wearing ordinary underwear.

For a test run, I got 4 pairs of underwear. Two in the bikini cut and two in the boy short cut in the 'teen' section which has a moderate-heavy absorbency. It's cheaper than the women's by approximately $2.00 to $2.50, not much of a difference but I like to get some savings.

Depending on your flow and which absorbency you buy, you can get away with with wearing for the whole day. Realistically, you should change it every 8 hours depending on your flow or you can get their newest 24 hour pair that they recently came out (I copped myself a pair, so anticipating).

I did push to wear one for the entire day on day 1 of my flow. Following that month trial I did eventually buy more because realistically you need more underwear to get through the week (I will repeat depending on your flow).

Pros:

  • I got through my days comfortably knowing that I won't have those mystical leaks from wearing pads.

I never thought I could ever experience the peace of mind that I could never stain clothes, underwear or bedsheets. I can't think of any other pros besides how comfortable they are because it's a feeling we want to experience whilst we're on our period.

CONS:

  • It's a simple task to wring out in cold running water and wash the underwear after each wear. I put it under cons because you might not be up for it during your period. You do get used to it because it's a quick 5 minutes and if your out, you can put it in a waterproof bag and chuck it in the wash when you get home.

It's one of the reasons why it is reusable it, if you can't wash it or don't then what's the point of getting them 🤷🏻‍♂️ It's the same with any other alternative, you can't get away from washing them and if you want to be more environmentally friendly, then you gotta get used to washing things my friend.

  • Price to a degree...

Given the prices on the site it's reasonable and is competitive to other companies that sell the same or similar products. They do offer sales form time to time but they get snatched up quickly especially if you wear a common size. Modibodi recommend buying at least 7 to 8 pairs and that's a large chunk of money. They do have bundle packs and a 5% discount if you buy up to 5 pairs, if you want some savings. It's worth the investment but money can be a deterrent which is why I put it as a con.

By bruce mars on Unsplash

Final thoughts:

Do your own research and what you feel comfortable because you know your own body.

I am in no way shape or form shaming anyone from using one use products. I'm here to inform people of something that they can do and my experience from using a reusable menstrual product. It's expensive maintenance for one to be on their menstrual cycle. This doesn't include the price of painkillers, replacement of underwear/clothes and many other factors included.

product review
2

About the Creator

tracydtn

A 20 something-year-old taking life day by day writing her thoughts out loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.