Viva logo

When I Was Raped

Holiday From Hell

By B JPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am writing this because I need to tell my story. I have been hiding this for so long and I don't want to be embarrassed anymore and feel like a victim. I don't want to have to pretend to be someone I'm not or fake a smile.

Here is a bit about me. I am 22 and I suffer from depression and anxiety, and here is how it started. When I was 18, I decided I was going on a girl’s holiday; enjoy the sun and have some freedom. However, my holiday didn't go as planned, and to get to the point quickly, I was raped. I had been out drinking with friends and I wasn't feeling well, so a few of us decided to go back to the hotel. He walked me to my room and I said goodbye at the door and went to the bathroom. Then I passed out in bed. I woke up to him on top of me with a knife to my throat. He pressed it further into my throat and told me if I screamed he would kill me, and so I just laid there and let it happen. I tried to scream so he would just kill me and I wouldn't have to live with what he was doing to me, but I couldn't. And so once he left, I got the hottest shower I could and I just stood. He took so much from me, but I would never cry over him. I had to see him a few times after it had happened, and all I could do was walk away. I didn't think anyone would believe me as I had been drinking and I was away from home, so I tried to deal with it by myself. But not only did I have to deal with the fact that I was raped, but also that he had taken my virginity.

While I had never been a romantic and wanted my first time to be special, I would rather it had happened differently. Where I went wrong in this whole situation is that I didn't tell anyone. I didn't tell my friends when they came back to the apartment, I didn't tell my mum when I got home. I kept it to myself. I felt like I would be treated differently if anyone found out. For the next few years I tried to carry on like normal, but I was becoming more and more depressed. I was lonely and I didn’t feel like I had anyone to talk to, and I didn't want to put my problems onto anyone else. While this happened a couple of years ago, I am still dealing with what happened to me. I am in a happy relationship, and my boyfriend has helped me overcome a lot of my problems, but I still have bad days; days where I don’t want to go outside, days where the thought of going downstairs in the dark alone scares the life out of me because I fear he will be there, and logically I know he won’t be, but that doesn’t stop the fear. But instead of hiding like I want to, I am forcing myself to go out, putting myself in uncomfortable situations that I don’t like so I can get better. He will not control me or affect my life any more than what he has done. And so I am writing this to get my story out there; to help people who may have gone through something similar to let them know it does get better, but it takes a while. And to the people who do it, they can go FUCK themselves!!!

body
Like

About the Creator

B J

Just a random girl who enjoys writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.