Viva logo

What Is Wrong With Us!

Honest (WAP) Review

By Tiff DickensPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Soooo I saw that new video out. You know the one with Cardi B and Meg The Stallion (A hot mess in my opinion) and after sitting back and collecting my thoughts and letting my head stop spinning ( because I felt like I was being hypnotized) I have concluded that we all have officially lost our flipping minds! I am disgusted by what I heard and saw and I decided that I wanted to write about it to bring attention to the over-sexualization of our poor misguided youth and the distraction tactics they use on us in the mainstream media! After listening to and watching that hot ass mess of a video with my husband (who was also very troubled and turned off) it has weighed heavily on my heart. You see I find it very sad that our women of color today and just women all together feel like we should demean ourselves for a check and notoriety. I find it sad that even when our world is going through a global pandemic we have stupidity put out there in front of our faces, disgusting depictions of so-called women shaking and gyrating on tv in front of our children who are mostly at home right now during this time of crisis and they know this! I find it sad that instead of talking about what is going on in our world with the CV, the racial injustices, food shortages, and coin shortages, people unemployed not knowing where their next meal is coming from, we are sitting here entertaining this filth! The song just came out and I have already heard kids singing it, we have people praising it saying that its women empowerment and all that bull! You see music and videos like this only add to a very big problem that we have in our nation. We have young girls that feel like the only way they will get somewhere in life is with their “wet and gushy”, having all these self-esteem issues because they don’t look like their fake ass “idols” on tv so they put on all this makeup, wigs, long fingernails and provocative clothing thinking that it is going to get them somewhere in life! All these Instagram “models” out now who get all this plastic surgery thinking it’s gonna up their followers, wanting to be seen as beautiful when in all reality it just looks very unnatural and disturbing! We have young men taking advantage of these young ladies because we have these young rappers and singers talking about it in their songs pushing this agenda that they need all the hoes! But it’s not just the obvious that makes this so disturbing, it's the fact that they (whoever the higher-ups are) are trying to distract us and as a whole, we need to see exactly what they are trying to distract us from! Maybe it's from the news pushing out all these ridiculous ass stories concerning our world and all that's going on because I don’t know about you but I’m starting to see that a good chunk of the news sounds so very false and I feel like they are playing us all like fools, or maybe from the fact that human trafficking is a HUGE problem that needs all of our attention. I don’t know but what I do know is that that song and that video were uncalled for and it is not what we need right now. How about writing a song uplifting our youth telling them to go after their goals and dreams, telling them they are beautiful just the way they are, that they don’t need to lay on their back to get somewhere in life, that they don’t need to be in the streets they need to be in a book! But hey what do I know I’m just a mother of 3 who is just fed up with this disgusting ass world!

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Tiff Dickens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.