Viva logo

Today I Tried the DivaCup

If you’re not using this, you’re missing out. Get out of your comfort zone!

By CourtneyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve wondered about the DivaCup for a while, but I just assumed it wasn’t for me. After 10 days of a very heavy flow period, I decided I’ve had enough with the pads. Today would be the day I would go out and buy a DivaCup. So I took a ride to my local Walmart, and headed for the feminine care aisle. I admit it took me awhile to find it among the rest of the pads and tampons, but viola I found it.

So there are two different models, model one is “Recommended for women under the age of 30 who have never delivered vaginally or by caesarean section.” Model two is “Recommended for women age 30 and over and/or for women who have delivered vaginally or by caesarean section.” So I picked up model one and took it to self checkout. At Walmart it costs about $40 with tax.

The instructions seemed rather simple, I skimmed them folded it into a U shaped and popped it up there. At first I wasn’t sure if it actually popped back open, but after trying to feel around I figured I’d just trust it. When first standing and walking around it does feel a bit weird, and of course you’re thinking ...will this work ... am I going to leak...is it going to fall out? Nope, just trust it!

I have to say after about the first hour, I began to forget it was there and stopped worrying. It did not leak at all, I only had to empty it once my first day and it was really easy to remove, clean, and reinsert. It recommends you remove and clean it twice a day. But I’m sure after using for a while you’ll get to know how often works best for your flow.

I’ve been laying in bed for a couple hours now and have not had to keep running to the bathroom every time I move because I'm about to leak off my pad. After a 10-day heavy flow, I’m looking forward to being able to sleep throughout the night without worry or running to the bathroom.

The next morning, I woke up to no leaks, and I cleaned it headed out for the day. I must tell you it’s so much simpler. I was spending the day with a friend, and I’ve got to tell you — I’m such a worrier with leaks, especially when I’m out in public, and with friends. With the DivaCup there is no need to worry, and no mess whatsoever. You literally don’t even have to deal with the mess of your period at all while you’re out, if you don’t want to. The DivaCup is okay to stay in for up to 12 hours, so in reality you wouldn’t even have to remove it until you get home if that’s where you’re more comfortable. The best part is not having to leave behind your dirty pads in everyone’s trash, which is a huge relief for me. Before I got home for the night I had it in for about 11 hours, and as I said before my period was max heavy flow. It was about a quarter below full , and I had not a problem whatsoever. It truly is a blessing, it leaves me with such less worry.

I’m already so happy with this, I can’t wait to recommend to all my female friends. Thank you DivaCup for making periods less stressful. Sorry not sorry PADs, the DivaCup is my new Best Friend!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.