Viva logo

The Perfect Daily Self-Care Guide for Women

by a health fitness 'expert'

By Danna LeePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Over the years of interest in my own self-care routine, I have become well educated on a variety of health topics including physical and mental health. It has taken a long time to finally find the self-care routine that works for me. Granted, I don’t always stick to every facet of my daily routine, but I do for the most part.

Below are some products, tips, and tricks on self-care throughout the day.

1. Obviously waking up every day at the same time can greatly improve your mood, concentration, and work schedule. This is due to the need for humans to have a regulated circadian rhythm that is responsible for these functions. If not, your mood and productivity can greatly decline. I find that for me, I am the most productive going to bed before 3am and getting up by noon – I know that sounds crazy. Everyone always pushes a much earlier wake up time and bedtime but for someone who has an energy spike of concentration between 11pm-3am, this is what works best for me. If you are also someone who tries to get up early everyday but tends to still not get much done, it might help to switch to the night owl schedule if you’re able. People operate differently, and its not a one size fits all situation. If you are naturally a night owl like me, getting up extremely early is more harmful than good to your productivity no matter how hard you try to get up early.

2. Once I wake up, I drink a cup of black tea with flaxmilk containing omega-3’s (beneficial for heart and brain health), lignans, and fiber. It’s important to hydrate when you wake up. Lignans are phytoestrogens, which help in lowering the risk of heart disease, menopausal symptoms, and osteoporosis.

3. After my tea, I make a smoothie from my Daily Harvest Subscription with the same flaxmilk. I also put 3 NeoCell Collagen tablets in my blender. These contain collagen, biotin, and Vitamin C. These tablets have genuinely improved the appearance of my hair, skin, and nails. Daily Harvest has nutritionally based pre-made smoothies that have not only helped me feel better, but also look better.

4. I brush my teeth with ClinPro 5000 subscription toothpaste. It contains at least 1.1% of sodium fluoride and has a high level of calcium phosphate – this toothpaste has genuinely made my teeth healthier and stronger and I don’t get cavities anymore. I also use a Phillips Sonicare toothbrush and clinical mouthwash.

5. My face care routine is the best I could find – at 26 years old I have become increasingly concerned about the appearance of my face. I use the Rodan and Fields line of skincare redefine regimen. I also use their hydration serum and bright eye complex. Once out of the shower, I also use it cosmetics (I use both the your skin but better foundation and the oil free-matte).

6. The hair-care line I use is Joico’s K-Pak reconstructor line. I use the shampoo/conditioner and spray when I get out of the shower, but I ONLY wash my hair maybe 2 times a week. I deep condition it with a keratin-pak once a week.

7. I use Strawberry Poundcake ultra shea body cream lotion every day from bath and body works and Kat Von D’s saint perfume line. (For some reason, these two fragrances mixed together smell amazing and people love it, you’re welcome).

8. I wear a Fitbit every day to work - and do my best to reach over 5,000 steps a day at the least. 10,000 is the usual. A lot of low-intensity cardio combined with healthy eating is extremely beneficial for physical and mental health. I try to use the elliptical a few times a week and also have a very easy workout plan that only lasts 20 min that I do maybe once a week. I’m not so concerned with getting a certain “look” as I am with physical and mental health. Yoga and low-intensity workouts feel the most beneficial for me. Working out can be disappointing if you feel you let yourself down, so try to set your own comfortable pace – the most important aspect is that you are just moving and increasing blood flow while being consistent. Consistency and habit are key- so whatever you can easily do consistently is what you should do. This is different for everyone.

9. For lunch and dinners I try to consistently stick with Daily Harvest or eating some kind of fish. I eat a lot of sushi, healthy tacos, turkey salads, granola bars, etc. I do my best to stick with the Daily Harvest every day. Their meals are vegan and provide more health benefits. I always have a cheat day or two – a burger and coke taste so much better when you know you’ve eaten healthy for a few days. Indulge yourself…really. Keeping a healthy diet isn’t an all or none issue. Actually the least of an issue it is made, the easier it becomes. It almost becomes a habit like brushing your teeth every morning.

10. Obviously it is very important to try to get the adequate amount of water throughout the day- I don’t always think I drink enough. At work, I make an immunity boost water with 2 squirts from the immunity boost blend from Monin. This contains Vitamin C, D, B3, echinacea, elderberry, and zinc. This has been especially beneficial during Covid season and tastes really good in anything.

11. A bed time is very important- possibly the most crucial part of your day. How you end your day can greatly affect how you rest and wake up again the next day. If you don’t get the amount of sleep your body needs, the list of physical and mental health problems could keep growing. As a person who was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder – getting to sleep and sleeping well had to be one of my main concerns. I now have mostly perfected the best way to care for this issue and sleep better. I try my best to avoid any pharmaceuticals, but have at times used Benadryl as a sleep aid (not to be used on a regular basis). I now make a cup of SleepyTime tea and mix it with Liquid I.V.’s sleep multiplier and drink it hot as I do my meditation to wind down. This blend contains valerian root, melatonin, and L-theanine. L-theanine is a natural calmer that increases dopamine, serotonin, and GABA levels.

So there ya have it, some products and helpful tricks to keeping yourself well as a woman that have taken me a long time to perfect as a doable routine. Hopefully you find a few things in this list that can help you do more self-care and motivate you to feel more confident. Below I will list some tips and tricks in times of stress, or if you also happen to suffer from anxiety.

*Epsom salt bath at night with a candle- positive and negative ions help stabilize and relax muscles in the body; relieve stress, anxiety, and depression as well as increasing serotonin*

*belly breathing- lie on the floor on your back, place your hand on your belly, and breathe in your belly for 10 mins. This helps calm the adrenal glands of the brain and releases dopamine, oxytocin, and serotonin*

health
Like

About the Creator

Danna Lee

My name is Danna. Sounds like Hannah, but with a D. I am your textbook humanitarian Aquarius.

I am a painter, singer, and writer.

I aspire to be an entrepreneur by using my talents and ideas to make an impact and help others in need.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.