Viva logo

The Not So Wonders Of Woman-hood

When your uterus decides to be angry

By Crystal C.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

If you're like me, with two x chromosomes, more than likely you've had a period. You never know when the demon within will first rear its ugly head, some young women get it young as eight while others won't until thirteen or later.

I remember the exact terrifying moment it happened. I was in seventh grade doing cross country after school and preparing to run when I noticed the weird discharge. Of course by the time I got home and used the bathroom I was screaming and crying. Obviously I was dying, there was no other reason, my mother never gave me any of "the talks".

After several minutes of my mother laughing and coercing me into opening the door, I finally got the news, "It's just your period, it means you're a woman now!". Well I don't know about you but I didn't want to be a woman if that meant I was going to bleed unannounced every month.

My mother wasn't always the best at explaining things, so in turn she got me a book. "The Care and Keeping Of You". It was a body book for girls and when I say it was super embarrassing and cringe, that doesn't even cover it. I can't express how hard it was for me to even read the book. What do you mean body hair?! How do you even shave without taking ribbons of skin off?! I'm going to bleed every month for almost the rest of my life?! Why??

Woman-hood, just wonderful ain't it? Yeah, I don't believe you. I personally think it sucks sometimes! Period cramps, bleeding, having kids?? What was I thinking with having kids not just once, but twice? The amount of pain that comes with pregnancy itself and then having the little demon and having to raise it?

Life isn't always tampon commercial perfect, how the ads on television depict happy women playing sports and running around like they're not dying on the inside. Of course it hasn't always been terrible for me, but I didn't believe a woman could hurt so much she would have to miss work or school because of a period, that's just crazy. Until I experienced it also.

Before being diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, I just thought I was having horrible weird fluke of a menses. That's when I experienced pain so horrible I had to call in from work, I could barely function as a person and a mother. I could finally relate to the few people who I didn't believe.

Now when I feel like I'm dying I can confidently know it's not in my head and in the cysts I didn't sign up for. It's a chaotic crazy when you realize that your body is doing things you don't want and changing in ways you didn't sit down and agree to, we won't even get into the other ailments that come with it like extra hair where it shouldn't be.

If you ever find yourself in need of feminine products, don't worry, I have an entire bathroom sink cabinet full! Stock up on all the products you think you'll need and times it by two, and don't forget the months supply of Midol and Ibuprofen.

Sometimes life is Tampax commercial great, and sometimes not so much. Growing as a person, a woman and a mother I've learned there's so many changes that can happen. Some good, some not so good, but as a mother you have to grin and bear it for your kids and the rest of the world.

health
Like

About the Creator

Crystal C.

I love tacos, tequila and my kids ❤

I'm stressy, messy and depressy and try to be as real as I can be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.