Viva logo

The Magic of Being a Woman

Fragile? Or strong?

By Julie MichaelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Fragile like a flower? Or fragile like a bomb?

Being a woman is a magical thing. It an be overwhelming, frustrating and even it can even seem at times that it's dangerous to be a woman.

Perhaps, with women being not as strong physically as men and without the natural aggression that men typically have, it can seem that it's dangerous to be a woman. If one thinks about it, women are definitely at higher risk of being harmed in many different ways physically (and emotionally) that men are less likely to be at risk for. But that's a small downside to the beauty and magic of being a woman.

As a woman, I have been a victim of sexual assault, domestic violence and great amounts of emotional and mental abuse. I don't say this to BE a victim, it is simply my reality. Believe me, healing has become a lifelong process for every bit of trauma that simply being my gender has brought about. But there are so many other parts to being a woman that I am thankful for and in awe of.

As a woman, I have brought life into this world - I am a mother to nine beautiful children. I have been a wife, a daughter, a sister. Things that only a woman can be - things that make my life magical. The resilience that women are naturally born with - we might be "weaker" physically and less able to keep up with a man physically, but we can bounce back from so many different things with minimal effect. Women are beautiful, brave and strong.

As a woman, I am the mother of sons and daughters - I am raising them to respect everyone, regardless of age, gender, sex, etc - because I've been on the receiving end of mockery and disrespect simply for being a woman. I can wipe away my tears, my children's tears and smile another day. Life is difficult, but it's beautiful. This is what I hope to instill in my children.

Being a woman is a magical thing.

Women have the capability to be strong in even the most chaotic and emotionally charged situations, we can intuitively know when something is wrong with our significant others, children, family members, friends, etc - many times, instinctively knowing what we can do to help or fix the situation. Women will go to war with or for their significant others, rip an enemy to shreds if that enemy is causing harm to their loved ones - especially their children. Watch out for the Mama Bears, we are fierce and unrelenting.

I do not think there is an accurate enough way to describe the beauty which being a woman brings to my life, that being a woman allows me to create. Women are resourceful, strong, beautiful, resilient, compassionate, empathetic creatures.

The biggest challenge to womanhood today is getting our young women to see how strong they really are and how much of a difference they can make in the world, the difference they already make. And the other challenges to womanhood and femininity is finding the balance to be able to be both strong and beautiful.

I found myself embarrassed to be a woman, to be female, or to be the "weaker sex." I fought for years to be the strong and independent female, I would struggle to "keep up" with men in physically demanding workplaces, I would attempt to control my feelings to an extremely unhealthy level because I didn't want to be one of THOSE "overly emotional" females.

In the past few years, I've realized that I have my strengths and weaknesses, like any human being does - but that doesn't mean I am weak or unworthy because I am female and not physically as strong as a man. Being emotional is okay too.

It's completely okay to be the strong, magical and beautiful woman that you are. You don't have to hide it or tamp it down, be proud to be the magical woman that you are and move through life surrounded by that magic.

gender roles
1

About the Creator

Julie Michael

Single mom to 9 kids. Writer. Author. Artist. Mother. Daughter. Witch. Activist. Friend. Homemaker. Cat Lady. Dream Maker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.