Viva logo

Semi Famous Ghanian Called Me a "Typical, Angry, Black American, Woman!"

It's exhausting having Africans say the same hateful sh*t as racists say about Black people!

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 5 months ago Updated 8 days ago 3 min read
Like
Created By The Author in Canva

Saturday, 25 November 2023

By: TB Obwoge

Everyday, in every way a Ghanaian finds a way to insult the shit out of me, even when I'm not in Ghana!

Someone needs to expose the hatred that some in Ghana have for Black women, for Black Americans and the excuses they make for behaving badly.

So, the man that said this is pretty famous, in Ghana he’s actually very well known. Ask me if I care? I don’t at all. He’s just a man. Any way, during one of our conversations he called me a “typical Black American woman..” He might have used lady, but I don’t think so. Either way it was followed by these words, “loud, angry and doesn’t take any shit!”

This man also said, when he first arrived in the United States, by way of New York City, that he called Black Americans lost people. Because they didn’t have his culture and behave like Ghanians.

Let’s talk about this, the government of Ghana is currently trying to get Ghanaians to stop shitting in the ocean, urinating in public and throwing trash on the streets.

However in his infinite wisdom, they’re better people in Ghana, than Black Americans, so he had to share how he arrived and immediately looked down on Black Americans.

This for some reason is a common practice for Africans, who have an entire continent of their own. Why are people living in the United States of America the concern of people living on their own continent with 56 countries? I will never understand this, never in all my life.

I never heard so much hatred about being a Black person in all my life until I moved to Africa, Ghana specifically. I never really caught too many Kenyans talking negatively about Black Americans but I'm sure they exist.

I let a Kenyan former friend live with me, he was a awful human being, a drunkard that punched me in my face and stole money from me. I tried so hard to help him, I knew his mental issues, I also knew he wanted to die by suicide more than anything. Had his older brother not beat him to the punch he would've been the one to take his own life. He thought about suicide a lot, he also had a lot of mental health issues he refused to get help with.

Black American women to him are loud and angry, don’t worry he also disrespected African women too. I don’t understand why the narrative of a Black woman standing up for herself makes her “loud and angry!”

After over 2 hours talking to him, I was insulted many more times, yet the only thing that bothered me, was his narrative which sounded just like a White American.

As I pointed it out, he didn’t care, he didn’t care that most of his wording was condescending and just like the white people in the United States. This popular, educated and well traveled Ghanian man, didn’t care anything about his words aimed at the being of Black American women. He didn’t even care that I was annoyed with him.

This post from Twitter is disgusting and it sums up the way men in several different races feel about Black American women. African women are portrayed as docile and perfect, while Black American women are violent, loud and angry because we don't bow down and serve men with a smile and a silent mouth.

This will always be the life of Black American women, we're always looked down upon, even Africans think we are too loud and they don't care who they insult.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey’s House efforts in Gender Equality & Children’s Rights as it tries to move international.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

CONTENT WARNINGtravelgender rolesfeminism
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.