Viva logo

Queen Cardi: The Takeover is Life Changing

The Story We Need Today

By Susie EstradaPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

From early on, female rappers have set out into the world of rap and hip-hop like hell on heels. Female MC's without a doubt have often times been heavily underrated. From MC Lyte to Da Brat to Lil Kim, Nikki Minaj, and hell yeah, Missy Elliot too!Female rappers have not only had to prove themselves lyrically but also have to fight for their identities. Whether out or not, a female rapper is portrayed as a masculine force. The rationale for lyrical skill can only be underplayed in a patriarchal world as having some sort of connection to masculinity. For some, it has been the labeling of being a lesbian or bisexual and for others, it has been the blatant label of being a whore. For some, the labels have led to defense or full body embracement such as what we saw with Lil Kim. But then what happens? The lights dim and the need to appease or to defend overshadows why they came into the game in the first place, which is why I would argue we have had wack male rappers in the spotlight so much longer than talented female rappers.

In a world of #metoo and race conflict, sex workers are still being greatly overlooked. Gang-affiliated youth are still treated as disposable and black/brown bodies are still coming under fire in the political world as well as in the streets. Female sexuality is still polarized between innocence and being a whore with neither end being good enough for the world. Where do we find common ground and acceptance?

As a 26-year-old Latinx woman with a past, I often feel like I need to hide or reject certain parts of myself. My hoop earrings don't come out in interviews because they might not be seen as professional, my tattoos get covered up even around specific family members, my English switches up in certain environments, and I cross my legs like a "lady" when I want to make sure I am respected. "Is there anything else that we should know before you leave, Ms. Estrada?"

Uhh... (insert all things here) Nope!

Even in posting a selfie on a personal social media account a woman has to make sure that she doesn't look too seductive in case the wrong person gets ahold of it. And with photoshop, you don't even know where your decent looking selfie is going to end up. The narrative thus far despite its attempt to liberate the feminine body has yet to be bold enough to do so. You're proud of how far you've come but no one will ever know because your story, no matter how powerful, could keep you from getting that job you want, the promotion you are qualified for, or even the basic decency that you deserve.

But, I have hope and coming in at a small stature (every internet thing says she's 5'5" but I swear she's max at 5'2") I think that Cardi B is coming in with so much to offer to rap, hip-hop, and feminism that I believe will ensure she stays around for good. I heard "Bodak Yellow" like most people on the radio and something inside me tingled. It was a hype I hadn't felt since Lil Kim's "Naked Truth." It's an interesting experience to feel humbled for not speaking perfect academic English, for being from the dirt but to also feel proud, stronger, and better than those who might look down on you because while you didn't have all these protective factors coming this far with nothing, it gives you something that a childhood home might not have. It's humbling but then songs like what Cardi B makes lights a fire in you, like it's you that she's rapping about. It's an excitement that is almost unexplainable to hear when a female rapper spitting fire, especially when you too are a young woman of color.

Struggling with depression and PTSD can make me feel weak but rap and hip-hop take me home. Home to me means being a teen in the streets escaping abuse and doing a few things I am not proud of but do to survive mentally, physically, and emotionally. And I am not ashamed. Even after all that, I still don't consider myself or any of those people I used to run with bad people. We are people of circumstance that did the best with what we had. And I love it. I love that Cardi B is unapologetic. I love that she asks to be educated when she's wrong, I love that she talks about it all from gangs to stripping, to the reasons why she did and the honest feelings and thoughts she had when she did all of that. I was watching her videos and dying because even though we're from a different coast, it's all the same and I love that she made me feel like I could be who I am without having to be sorry. Strife builds queens and I love that she doesn't apologize for being a stripper, for having pictures of her out in the world, or for her struggles. Most of all I love that no matter how much the media and people try to diss her, she doesn't allow anyone to make her feel as lesser than. It is what it is, it was what it was, and look at who she is now. We need to hear more stories like these and as a Latinx who was threatened at one point on the daily with being jumped for not being Brown enough but also not being Black, I know that I would have loved to hear more about my heritage and why I look the way I do. I would have loved to hear more stories from women like me who went through things like me and don't apologize for it. Cardi B's takeover is life changing and I am expecting great things from her influence because of how raw and honest her story is. I think that it's something that the world can learn from and that young girls can grow from despite her admitting that she doesn't want to be a role model because she's rated R. But still, how many teens out there are living Rated R lives without any type of voice? Also, thank you, Cardi, for admitting to having work done. How many girls are out here walking around wondering why they don't look like a Kardashian (no shade intended)?

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Susie Estrada

I was reassembling, now I'm living. Twenty-six-year-old Xicana, Bruja Feminista, y chingona. PTSD and depression couldn't stop me once I found God in myself... (quote by Ntozake Shange).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.