Viva logo

Pretty Woman

Pretty problematic

By Mary SkiesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The beloved romantic comedy that is often considered a cult classic that pushed Julia Roberts to super stardom & really is her trademark film was a tad bit sexist. It made prostitution or sex work seem glamorous (if I could be really honest). I know the 90s were a great time for Hollywood they dished out romantic movies (Titanic , Sleepless in Seattle) horrors ( Misery) and anything else that would sell. Pretty woman is often described as a Cinderella story where a rich businessman by the name Edward Lewis (Richard Gere) who has probably has trouble finding woman comes to save the day & gives Vivian Ward a sex worker in Los Angeles played by Julia Roberts a new lease on life.

Now that I'm older & really in tune with feminism and my overall worth as woman living in a sexist society it makes me really think was Pretty Woman really “romantic”. Or was it just a feel good sexist movie that promoted a false fairytale that sex workers could land a nice client & live happily ever after. I get that its just a movie & I shouldn't look so deep into it but sorry I've decided to look deep into it. I went hunting for as much info on this movie that lead me to the original script. It was very graphic & included racial slurs trust me you don't want to read it (thank god for rewrites). Given the script was written by American screenwriter J.F. Lawton it really makes me think what was his angle & purpose for creating these two characters. Since the beginning of time sex work has been risky business for women that involved drugs, kidnapping & murder. I think it was kind of irresponsible of the studio to even sign on to this, at the time the movie was released America was in the middle of a aids & crack epidemic. The scene where she charges him $ 3,000 for a week worth of companionship left a bad taste in my mouth I think that was the moment she gave up all her power. Male characters in film never lose their power or dignity whether it be romance,horror or action. The female characters are always weaker, having to bargain or just flat out scared of what could happen or what is happening. Throughout the film Edward is protected, guarded & is never confronted or even held accountable for his issues with women. There is a very heartbreaking scene where Jason Alexanders character Phillip Stuckey is left all alone with Vivian in the hotel room he literally tries to sexually assault her, he does physically assault her though by slapping her so hard that she falls to the floor. Edward comes in and saves her form this monster . But to add insult to injury he isn't dealt with any real repercussion just a bloody nose. So let me get this straight as a arrow he just tried to sexually assault a young woman & slapped her but he gets to walk away just wow . Throughout the rest of the film it isn't even treated as something serious which bothered me alot looking back it with fresh eyes & the rise of the #metoo movement. Richard Gere is hailed as the hero or prince charming by critics two titles I think his character doesn't deserve his actual title should've just been “the client” . The harm in pretty women is that it glamorizes prostitution, promotes the objectification of women & patriarchy which in my mind is very dangerous. The way Roberts character is treated is the exact reason why this film is problematic those nights at this Beverly Hills hotel involved an attempted sexual assault & physical assault lets not ever forget that.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Mary Skies

Start writing...Consumer of pop culture, hopeless romantic, I love unsolved mysteries, classic sitcoms. Sometimes I dibble & dabble in religion or politics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.