Viva logo

One In A Million Woman of Inspiration

Aaliyah Dana Haughton-My Inspirational Woman

By Chanell OwensPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
One In A Million

My Woman of Inspiration

My Inspirational Woman who inspired me is Aaliyah Dana Haughton, since I first seen her on “The Box” in the late “90”s. Aaliyah was born January 16, 1979 in Brooklyn, New York. She was an R&B artist who started her music career at the age of 10 on star search, and performed on the same stage as Gladys Knight. Later in her career, Aaliyah was produced with the best Dynamic Duo partnerships in the music industry, (in my opinion) Missy Elliot & Timbaland. Her first & second album sold over $3 million copies. The second album “One in A Million”, sold 8 million copies worldwide. Aaliyah won 14 Grammy awards for various things in the prime of her career. She was also a songwriter, actor, & model. Aaliyah is the tenth most successful female R&B artist on Billboard for the past 25 years, and 27th in history.

Inspiration To Create & Career Path

Although, I had 3 career choices set, watching Aaliyah sparked a new love of art. I remember 2 of her music videos inspired a new path for me to dance & sing called: “Are You That Somebody” & “Try Again”. I loved watching the dance choreography, because of the creative Egyptian, belly, & urban movements in her performance. Listening to Aaliyah’s voice, she carried this smooth tone that fell in line with her smooth dance moves. When I was in the 8th grade, I signed up for an audition to sing “One In A Million” at my graduation concert. I was nervous & not confident enough to sing as smooth as she did, but it was one of those moments that defined my career path more. There were other people there singing selective songs, and I knew I could not compare. Eventually, I just stuck with dancing and sung off the grid.

Youtube Video Links:

Are You That Somebody: https://youtu.be/Nr03OPoXNrw

Try Again: https://youtu.be/zi_lhIaZOXI

What Did You Admire Most About Her

As a kid, I wanted to dress just like her. She wore these blue baggy jeans with a silver chain attachment that sagged off her hips. A white scarf she wore in one of her photos, which made me believe she was in a women’s biker club. As well as, a blue crop top that showed off her belly in the “Are You That Somebody” video. I kept telling my mom I wanted this outfit, & that we need to go buy it. My mother asked me where is it, or what store is it in. I looked at her & said, I don’t know but it’s cute. When my mom finally seen the outfit she said, so you want to be fast? My response to her was it’s a style, & no I’m not looking for attention from no boys. Eventually, I found a blue tank top, blue jeans & a gold chain to attach, a white button-up, & a white scarf. It was an accomplishment for me, even though it wasn’t exactly like what she wore. I just remember feeling cute & vibrant.

Photo 1 Crop Top: Citation: https://images.app.goo.gl/J2j8Pg7YAy8ybA1F6 Photo 2 White Scarf Citation: https://images.app.goo.gl/p3zDHhTiv5X5TgTo9

My Relationship

My relationship to Aaliyah is just fan based. I feel like if I had a sister, she would be someone whom I’d definitely look up to.

How Did She Shape You –

Aaliyah Dana Haughton shaped my vision, & dance style of how I wanted to perform & look. What solidified her character for what shaped me is when she played in the movie “Queen of the Damned”. She was classy, fierce, bold, and still remained who she was. Till this day, former colleagues would say I haven’t changed. I have a sense of humor, I make life fun, definitely a self motivated individual. I have visions & see it through. When colleagues, friends, or family share the same vision as you, it helps to shape genuine appreciation.

How Did She Inspire You To Be Better

Even though Aaliyah Dana Haughton has passed, she’s inspired me to be a better person by simply getting the job done & staying humble. When it’s in your soul, or at the forefront of your mind, just do it. Aaliyah’s last video was “Rock The Boat”, when her last words were Quote: “I have to do this” End Quote. My drive of self motivation is more empowered to get things down, which changes according to the time of life. There are things you have to plan, & plan to achieve. If you don’t get a vision, or set goals for yourself, then you just exist in the world.

Who You Are Today

After 24 years, I am still dancing and teaching in the community of 13 years. I’m the CEO of my company, since March of 2015, called “Free 2 Express Dance & Co LLC”. I plan to accomplish my second goal, which is to go back to school & pursue a career in dance. Plus, open up my own studio, & continue to work with various artists.

Information provided can be found at Citation: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aaliyah

Thank You Aaliyah Dana Haughton for being an Inspirational Woman!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.