Viva logo

One day as a passion driven working mom

The life of a working mom

By L.A. Kirchheimer Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
One day as a passion driven working mom
Photo by Brian Wangenheim on Unsplash

Do you want to know what it’s like to live a day in the life of a caring, passion driven, working mother that is also pursuing a writing career and why it matters?

I know many of you out there are thinking, wow that was a mouthful, I might not want to know what that’s like, it sounds difficult.

It’s not that cultivating this life isn’t challenging and difficult, it sure is, but it’s worth it, even if there are times you might feel like it’s not. Let’s break it down into three categories:

Day Job

Writing

Family

Day Job

First and foremost, my day job and what consistently helps me pay my bills, afford my life, and child is working as a Licenced Massage Therapist and Canine Myotherapist (not to be confused with a masseuse. Please go educate yourself on the difference).

I went into this profession straight out of college because I had a passion for helping people and making the world a better place. Couple that with my desire to run my own business, making money based on the work I put in, seeming like I had limitless earning potential, and the ability to use one of my prodominant gifts, compassion, I believed that massage therapy was a good fit for me.

I was further excited after I researched all the benifits of massage and how you can make a real difference in the world, one person at a time in a natural, healing way through the use of my hands. I was able to help both humans and dogs alike with hip and shoulder issues, stress management, and sports massage for warm up and cool down before events just to name a few things.

When I think of how many heart attacks I might have prevented, how many sports games went in my client’s favor because of their stretch session, or because I made my client feel good, I know I’m doing something that is making a change in the world in every interaction with one of my clients.

There are days I’m tired, overworked, physically sore, emotionally drained, but that’s when it’s time to recharge.

Writing

I have had to schedule time into my day for writing. I tend to write ideas and small things every day, but my writing schedule is four days a week from 8:30 pm to midnight. On those nights I spend time writing on one of the novels I’m working on. The writing isn’t going to write itself. In order to be a writer you have to write.

This has been a passion of mine since I was a child. The number of stories I have planned will keep me busy for sometime. So once I finish one manuscript, I’m quickly onto the next. I have three books published and a fourth one coming soon.

I have been to conventions and different author events. I’ve met people that told me my books inspired them to write. I am making a difference just by showing people that yes you can write a book.

Family

Did I mention I’m a mom to a curious daughter who looks up to me and everything I do? Yep. Between that, making time for my husband, my friends, and doing the regular day to day responsibilities, it can be hard to find time.

My daughter wants to be a writer and a massage therapist like me. She wants to be kind and helpful because she sees me doing what I love. I don’t want her to be me. I want her to follow her own dreams and be her own person. That starts with the courage to be yourself. If I continue to do what I love and show her that we should value our gifts, then I know I’m teaching her to value herself and who knows how she will change the world.

feminism
1

About the Creator

L.A. Kirchheimer

L.A. Kirchheimer is an author, Licensed massage therapist, mother, wife, friend, entrepreneur, and a creative that strives to make a difference in the world. Her works and events can be found at LAKirchheimer.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.