Viva logo

New mum

My world changed

By Madison Cosentino Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

NEW MUM

March 2nd 2021 will be the date that changed my life forever. I gave birth to a beautiful happy little boy weighing 8 pound 19 ounces, he has light brown hair and big blue eyes. He is the perfect blend of my partner and i.

WHAT TO EXPECT?

There are so many books and magazines that tell you what to expect, so many people with opinions about whats right and wrong with raising your child. Everywhere you look you will see someones opinion, you will read expert advise that is always changing, throughout the years everything differs. Its hard to know what to do or what to believe, but for me i had to completely ignore what was being said. I have had family and friends tell me what to expect, when babies crying do this! Do that, don’t do this and don’t even consider doing that. Everything becomes confusing and with everyone’s opinion it puts alot of pressure on new mums. We dont want your opinions shoved down our throats! We want acceptance and understanding eyes.

The thing is, when you tell the world your expecting a baby they dont tell you how great it is... they tell you things like, you are never going to sleep again, you wont have time to clean, all your alone time is gone once your baby arrives. This is bullshit, yes they are relevant things but what about the good stuff? What about telling new mums that seeing that baby smile makes it all worth it, taking care of that baby brings so much joy and love, tell us that we are going to do an amazing job raising these kids. Instead of scaring new mums and putting daunting scenarios in their heads, how about encouraging them! supporting them and welcoming them with open arms.

Babies world revolves around you, you are their home, their safe place, their food, their warmth. A child loves you no matter what, this is the perfect time to take more care in yourself. Eat good foods, excersize in between helping the needs of your baby, try and speak positively to yourself and about yourself. Your body has changed and so has your life, drastically. This time can be challenging but help is always close, its promoted immensely after birth so accept the help, listen to the positive advice and take it on board. Surround yourself with support and love, embrace the new woman you have become.

Everyone is learning, all first time mums go into this head first! Some of us with not a damn clue.

The first few weeks of being a mother my head was filled with, feed, burp, change, kiss, sleep, it was a constant cycle circling in my head. Theres so much to know about having children most of us dont figure it out until you we had them! You learn along the way, no one’s experience is the same, no two babies are the same. Every day is different, its filled with challenging times and long nights, i dont think anyone has ever called motherhood easy but i think we can all agree that its the best thing we have ever done.

THE BIRTH OF A MOTHER

Not only did i give birth to a baby, I just became a mother. From here on out I am never going to be by myself, I will never be alone. This little human will be by my side, he will be on my mind everyday. I wont make the same mistakes my parents made (well I hope not) this is my time to create an amazing person, a brave, smart and down to earth little boy who will soon enough be a man and start a family of his own. Becoming a mother is so empowering and rewarding, i am only 5 weeks in and I am having the time of my life, I feel like I was made to be this boys mother.

body
Like

About the Creator

Madison Cosentino

Head in the clouds 🌿

My mind is full of little nothings and big Everythings .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.