Viva logo

My Top 7 Things I Love About Being A Woman

I like to consider myself a tomboy, but make no mistake, I'm very feminine.

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo by Jackson David from Pexels

Growing up, I was raised as if I were a boy. If you ask my parents they will scoff and say that I’m being dramatic but it's true.

I was born eleven months after my older brother, and my parents saw no reason why we shouldn’t be raised the exact same. While some girls were playing with dolls, I was playing with Pokémon cards. I was the only girl playing in my brother's baseball league and helped him practice for football. Softball was never even a thought, it was basically a swear word in my house. I played video games, only had guy friends and wore my brothers hand-me-downs.

When I got older, like puberty years, my parents did switch gears a little bit. I was never forced to act like a boy or anything crazy like that. They just wanted to make sure I could hang out with both men and women. Once I was no longer able to play ‘guys sports’ and wear my brother's overalls, I started wearing dresses and makeup. Femininity never had to be taught to me. (I’d assume more women don’t need to be taught it either)

Regardless, I was still taught to smoke a cigar, sip scotch with a poker face, play pool, and any other stereotypically masculine activity. I am very grateful that I was brought up this way, looking back.

It has been a remarkable tool to be able to fight like a girl and play like a man.

Still, being a woman is much preferred. Want to know why? Here are my top 7 reasons:

1)Since the day I was born, the best thing anyone expected me to do in my life was to have children. Bar is set extremely low if you ask me. The responsibility of having children is huge and it is not something to be taken lightly. Still, the majority of women have had children, so it is not exactly the same goal as being elected president.

2)You are both allowed and expected, to change your appearance. Don’t like your hair color? Dye it. Hate your nose? Contour it. Too short? Where heels. Guys, for the most part, are expected to work with what you’ve got.

3)Women and children first! Not to sound selfish but I really like the sound of that.

4)Beauty is as much a strength as intelligence and personality. I guess this goes for both men and women, but I’ve always found a pretty young girl to go farther than a smart man.

5)I am not expected to lift heavy things.

6)This is a bad one but, I’m going to say it anyways. People buy you things. I know, I know! Strong independent women shouldn’t need a man and all that. It takes a lot of money to buy clothes and makeup so I appreciate the free dinner every once and awhile. Say what you will, I'm not sorry.

7)I get to wear men's clothes and it isn’t deemed inappropriate by society. I can wear a suit to work or a dress. It's even considered ‘charming’ by most people if women incorporate masculinity into their wardrobe. Yet, if a guy wears a dress, the world will explode. It’s a sick joke.

The world is very um… strange right now. The time of female empowerment is at an all-time high. Yet, still the very simple things that women are entitled to since birth are being overlooked. Ladies, try to remember that you are different from men. No matter how hard you try and pretend like we are the same, we are not. All you have to do is stop thinking of that as a disadvantage. Take the tools that you are given and use them to fight like a girl.

list
2

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.