Viva logo

My Experience with the Nexplanon Birth Control Implant

It's not for everyone and it certainly wasn't for me

By Liv PasquarelliPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
My Experience with the Nexplanon Birth Control Implant
Photo by Reproductive Health Supplies Coalition on Unsplash

Before I get started, I just want to state that this is MY experience. Everyone’s body is different, and I personally know people who have the Nexplanon and enjoy it. I am sharing my experience because I feel like the information I was given before getting the implant didn’t cover everything I needed to know, and I may have reconsidered if I knew what I was in for.

Here are the facts:

My Nexplanon was inserted on 02/19/2020

That Nexplanon was removed on 10/08/2020, which means I had it in for 7 months and 19 days. I began writing this on 10/15/2020, one week after the implant was removed. I couldn’t wait for the full year which is when the period is supposed to regulate, because the blood loss from the constant period was causing severe health issues.

Period

Right off the bat, I started getting a really long period. I checked in with my doctor who inserted it and she told me to take a bunch of Advil (3 x 3 times a day for 5 days) to stop the period. It worked and my period was gone for a month or so.

When my period returned, it was really heavy at first and just never went away. I would think it was done and then a few days later, it would be back. The next thing I tried with my doctor was taking a month of Sprintec birth control pills on top of having the implant. It stopped for a little while but shortly returned.

By the time I had reached my limit with this little adventure, I had my period for two months straight pretty steadily and was having dangerous levels of iron deficiency from blood loss over time.

ADHD and Medication Interactions

This was fairly subtle, so I didn’t really notice it until after the Nexplanon was removed. I have been taking a prescribed stimulant for ADHD for over a year now. During the implant’s stay in my body, I noticed that my regular dose wasn’t working very well anymore. I upped my dose and saw a bit of a change, but not much.

Now, after a week without the Nexplanon, my meds are super effective to the point where I may have to go down to a smaller dose. I’m surprised by how different it’s affecting me after only a week without the implant. My focus and attention are much better.

Iron Deficiency

I’ve struggled with Iron Deficient Anemia before in my life. Many women of Mediterranean heritage like myself struggle with this more than others because of a genetic predisposition. Women, in general, are prone to anemia, especially those who are pregnant or have heavy periods. In the past, I became anemic when I was vegan and working out a lot and when I was struggling with an eating disorder.

This time around, I believe the anemia came from blood loss due to the months-long heavy period. I felt fatigued more and more as time went on. My feet were constantly freezing cold and blue, my lips were pale and blue. I had the darkest circles my under eyes have ever had. I’m a fairly active individual, and suddenly I would become exhausted after a long walk. My heart would race and I would be out of breath when I exerted myself slightly. Eventually, I had to go get blood tests done and take a supplement, which still didn’t help.

When I’m iron deficient, I get restless leg syndrome, which is a known side effect of anemia. When this happens, I won’t be able to sleep no matter how tired I am because my legs cannot relax. I have to walk, do squats, or do other forms of exercise until my legs are so tired I can finally rest. Sleep deprivation and anemia are really not a winning combination of health.

As soon as the Nexplanon was taken out, I got a full, heavy period right away. It just ended, and I’m hoping that a regular period will make the anemia go away. I already feel like I have more energy again.

Viral Throat Infection

I’m not really sure if this was a side effect of the Nexplanon, but in August, I got horribly ill with what felt like strep throat. I had a bad fever which went over 102 degrees Fahrenheit at times. It lasted over a week and I had to go to multiple doctors who didn’t know what it was. Eventually, I needed to take steroids as the pain was so intense that I couldn’t even swallow water.

I got tested for Covid-19 multiple times and each test came back negative. Even stranger, my tests for strep throat and mono also came back negative. I took antibiotics for almost 2 weeks and they didn’t seem to help. I’m still not positive what it was, but I was surprised to discover that throat infection is a side effect of the Nexplanon implant. It sure looked and felt like an infection of the throat and tonsils.

Weight Gain

I gained about 10–15 pounds more than my regular maintained weight during my time with the Nexplanon implant. This might have to do with the quarantine and leaving city life for a suburban one which means less walking. Even so, I have made an effort to go for walks daily, eat healthily, and exercise throughout the quarantine.

When I had the implant I was constantly hungry. Not the bored hungry where you just want to snack on junk food, but a real, dizzying, intense hunger. I can guarantee I was eating much more when I had this thing in. I was also trying to aid my iron deficiency by consuming a lot of red meat and leafy greens.

From as little as 3 days after getting the implant removed, my appetite has returned to normal. I just find myself less hungry when I eat a normal amount on a routine schedule.

Update: It's been 6 months since the removal of the Nexplanon implant. I have not lost the weight I gained, and have put more weight on. Again, this could be explained by the pandemic, but I am actively working towards losing weight with a healthy diet and exercise and not having much success.

Dry Skin

I have eczema and skin prone to dryness already. After getting the implant, it got much worse. The skin on my face became dry and flaky, even with a consistent skincare regimen to combat it. One week after getting the implant removed and my skin has done a complete 180. It looks fresh, clear, and hydrated.

Update: In the 6 months since removing the Nexplanon, my skin has only improved. I have no hormonal breakouts, eczema, or dryness.

Final Thoughts

My reasoning behind writing this sprung from feeling like the doctors I encountered along the way didn’t inform me fully about the side effects of the Nexplanon implant. I did research and I realize that everyone’s body reacts differently. That being said, if I had known that throat infections, bleeding until I’m anemic, insatiable hunger, and my ADHD medication being rendered useless would be the result of using this form of birth control, I would’ve passed.

My entire reasoning behind staying on birth control is because I have something called Menorrhagia, which is essentially an extremely heavy period. After a decade of trying every birth control method under the sun including multiple IUDs, pills, and now this implant, I’m going to take a break from birth control altogether and see how things go. I don’t take birth control to actually control birth as I am in a committed relationship with a woman.

Tin Foil Hat Thoughts

When I got the implant removed, the doctor who removed it was already trying to convince me to try the Nuvaring, even after I clearly stated I didn’t want to continue being on birth control. It seemed like an Orwellian dystopia where I was having some mind-control substance pushed on me. I’m sure gynecologists make money from selling birth control to their patients, because that’s the way the American health care system works, unfortunately.

I want to reiterate that everything in this article is my own personal experience that I am sharing in case it may benefit someone looking into getting the Nexplanon implant. Everyone’s body is different. Do your research and decide which method of birth control, if any, is right for you based on your own needs.

Finally, I want to point out something I’ve experienced over and over again my entire life. I have learned to endure painful and disabling medical symptoms from healthcare professionals many times. Women are often gaslit into believing that their pain isn’t that bad or that their symptoms are normal.

My anemia had to get to a dangerous level for me to take action because I’m so used to be treated like I’m overreacting whenever I have a medical issue. I implore you to look for a doctor that gets to know you and will listen to you. Things like constant pain, heavy bleeding, extremely painful cramps, and constant headaches are not normal, and there are solutions to them. We have been taught as women that our experiences are invalid, especially when it comes to health and wellness. For me, learning to take care of my health and listen to my body has been an important part of my journey towards self-love and self-care.

body
Like

About the Creator

Liv Pasquarelli

Writer from Rhode Island

LGBTQ+ 🌈

livpasquarelli.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.