Viva logo

My Experience With Sexual Harrassment in Nollywood - Linda Osifo

Linda speaks out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Linda Osifo is one of Nollywood's newest and biggest stars. The actress has experienced a meteoric rise to fame and has acted in such blockbuster movies as A Naija Christmas, Tanwa Savage, Unroyal, Merry Men, Devil in Agbada, and more.

Like many industries, the entertainment industry is rife with talk about sexual harrassment. This conversation transcends borders because it is a conversation being had in different countries all over the world. Here in Nollywood, it is something we have become all too familiar with hearing. During an interview with Pulse, Linda Osifo was asked about her own experience with sexual harrassment in the industry. The talented actress answered honestly. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Linda on Pulse TV

Speaking to Pulse about sexual harrassment in Nollywood, Linda Osifo said:

When it comes to the sexual harrassment in Nollywood, it is a general topic because sexual harrassment happens in every industry and in every sector. So there should be policies, there should be rules, there should also be discipline. Unfortunately, we do live in a society and a community where there really isn't much done so we have to do much for ourselves and that's talking out about it. In the industry, I hear about it. I see it. I would have experienced it. However, to avoid things and to always protect yourself - from my own experience - number 1, understand what you want. Number two: never be extra desperate because when you are, you become easy victims. Unfortunately, there are people who just meet the wrong people at the wrong time and those are where we hope everyone can speak out about.

It happens in every industry. You have to be careful. You have to be wise. If you are desperate, you will go after people and they will take advantage of you sexually. But when you're not desperate and you understand what merits are, you should know that if you are good, someone will give you the role. And I have always believed that. So I was able to avoid that because if I'm good, I will get a role.

Then she was asked, "Have you experienced it personally?" to which Linda said:

Oh yes. Someone once told me in the industry that if I submit myself to them, they will make me a star. And when I Googled what the word meant and when I asked my parents "What does it mean for a woman to be submissive to a man?" (silence). So, it's for you to understand that if you want the stardom, you won't have to submit yourself to someone and that can mean sexually, slave. You have to make your own decision and know that if you're good, if you believe, if you have the talent - you do not need to take those kind of options. Or even make that kind of decision.

Nawa! "Submit yourself and I will make you a star", is this what is happening behind closed doors? Why can't people hire people because of quality of work? I tire o! What do you think about this story? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

body
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.