Viva logo

My Champion

Moments in a Woman's Life

By Kathryn Keller-CasperPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by: Kathryn Keller-Casper

Dear Strong Woman,

You amaze me. I need to start right there because I know you haven't heard it nearly enough. All those times you felt like no one saw you, I hope you know I saw you clearly. All the times you spoke and thought that no one heard you, I assure you I did. Your words still resonate in my mind each time I face tough times, in fact. All those times you took care of everyone else without a single expectation or a single thank you... I bet you felt so unappreciated. I'm here to say that I not only appreciate you, but I love you. It's your love that built my spirit. It's your kindness and humility that taught me what matters most. It's your devotion to your family that made me who I am today.

I've often asked myself, "Where would I be without you?" I don't dare try to answer that question. I wouldn't want to have to answer that question.

Strong Woman, I recall a time many years ago when I saw you struggle. I felt it too. Perhaps it was because you had so much you carried and so many you cared for: a husband, your children, and your parents too. Sometimes I'd hear you cry behind a closed door, and though just a child, I wanted to help you more than I knew how to do. I hope that the hugs and the reminders that I love you helped to lift you from that feeling of being overwhelmed. As a grown woman, I've found I can relate all too well. What matters most, though, is that you made it through, because you never gave up; you never stopped loving us all.

Strong Woman, all of that is already more than enough. Yet, after raising all of us, you cared for many of our children. Doing so enabled me to be at work, as I had to do. You taught me how to read, which is one of the greatest gifts you chose to share, and then, you helped me teach my children too. Where would they be without you? How might their lives have been so much less without a grandmother's expertise, care, and concern? You were a second mother to my children. They know it, and so do I.

Do you remember our vacations by the lakes? When for many this would have been a time to just sit back and relax right through it, you put in extra effort, wanting every part of it to be special. The hours of doing and folding laundry, packing each suitcase and bag, all the while making plans with us regarding all the fun activities we would do... it must have been exhausting, but you were joyful. When you would finally sit down on the sand, you'd allow yourself some time to breathe. A smile on your face, resting there in all your glory, you'd watch us, proudly, as we ran and played in the waves. You never neglected to warn us of the undertow, not that you would have let anything in life ever take us under. We learned our strength from you.

Strong Woman, I know you've grown older now, though you still look just as beautiful as you did 50 years ago. You don't move around as quickly, but you're still on the move. You stay away from crowds now, but you never turn a family member or friend away. The house may not look as perfect as it once did, but it's still tidy and homey. Though the yard work makes your back ache, you still take pride in keeping it manicured and lovely. Again, you amaze me, and I know I'll live my later years in very much the same manner. After all, you were my first teacher.

Strong Woman, I will love you forever. For all the times you held me, know that I'll be there to hold you too. When the time comes that you can no longer do for yourself, I will do for you. It's the least I can do, and honestly, one of the few things in this life that I really, really want.

I am forever grateful for your love.

-Kathryn

gender roles
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Keller-Casper

Mother of three, avid writer, photographer, and gardener

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.