Viva logo

My Body

A short entry of my experience with contraception.

By Anita VictorPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Sex=pills and portions. If not sex=babies. Have you ever thought about how hard it is to have a great sex life as a woman? I don’t know about you, but I love to have sex. Its intimate enough to satisfy my craving for an affectionate touch but just as detaching to preserve my emotional independence. However, this freedom of sexual expression comes with a plethora of responsibilities. At my age, there is now way I’m having a child right now. So that means it’s my responsibility to be on contraception. Ugh. Take your pick… the pill, patch, injection, IUD. I have tried a couple techniques to shield myself from a pregnancy, if I was a man… anyway. With contraception there’s risks, of course. Your tit might fall off, JOKING. No seriously, cancer, blood clots, exotic pregnancy. Although these risks are clinically “rare” they still happen. I don’t mean to be a Debby-downer, but doesn’t it just make you so mad sometimes. You’d think because women go through enough during childbirth and after that we should be able to enjoy a full, vibrant sex life. But I guess not. Me, I’m against contraception. I was on it for a long time and started at a relatively young age. I didn’t even realise that I could feel so normal when I came off of it. There were so many aspects of life that were affected by the pills I was taking. My skin, for one, was trash lol. I’ve only just been able to undo the years of damage. Second, my mood swings were horrible, I would get so upset sometimes and wouldn’t even know why. Thirdly, the constant yeast infections. I thought my vag was just more sensitive or something, but once I came off the pill I went from having thrush every 1-2 months to having them every 1-2 YEARS! The only good thing I can say about that experience was that it kept me slim (but once I came off it, I exploded so I guess it’s not that great lol). I bet some will say but “it’s worth it because you could have worry-free sex”. Wrong. I had continuously heart attacks (not real ones) every month until I got my period. As you know the pill is not 100%. I didn’t get pregnant though, thankfully lol. Yes, it worked.

Another one that I can vouch for that works is the IUD. This little device is serious. First, we need to talk about the insertion process. What a bitch. They literally open up your cervix and but a little t-shaped device in your uterus. You can feel everything. And if you’re lucky enough to get a doctor or nurse that talks a lot you could be spread open for at least 4 minutes (doesn’t seem like long but is like 50 years in vag time). The day of the insertion I was actually okay, got a little spotting and the aftermath did not hurt as much as I expected. Hmm. 3 days later, I was on a date and when I got home, I felt the most intense cramps I have ever experienced in my whole life. Goodness me, it was so sharp, and crashed in in waves. Honestly, I was terrified, I thought “yep, there goes my uterus” (naa she is fine lol). It subdued but every time I had a period, I would get cramps (not a bad as just described) bad enough to stop me in my tracks. Not to mention that it made my usual 3-5 day monthly bleed into a 7-9 day monthly bleed… But again, as the months went on the pain reduced and I began to enjoy the benefits of the IUD. Like vibrant, worry-free, anytime sex because the effectiveness of the IUD is very high. It did not affect any other aspect of my life and body because NO FAKE HORMONES! YAY! No yeast infections, no remembering to take a pill at the same time every day. No mood swings. But the painful periods didn’t reduce enough so after 6 months, I got it removed. For the last year or so, I have not been using any contraception and I’ve never felt better. I feel at peace with myself. But that means no sex for me lol. Which is difficult. Lol I’m lying, I do have sex but only oral, which is great for because that’s the only way I can climax. I’ve taken the decision to abstain from penetrative sex until I find my husband, and he will be worth the trouble of the contraception lifestyle as I do not want to have kids first thing in my marriage. I will not do it to have sex with just any guy. Well. I know that was a lot to take in, but I believe that women should be more brutally honest about their experiences with contraception. Its only right. I will not be ashamed to let the world understand the sacrifice that is my body.

body
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.