Viva logo

Mikaila Ulmer's Story

An Inspiring Entrepreneur by: Tara Cutten

By Tara C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Mikaila Ulmer's Story
Photo by Caroline on Unsplash

When I saw this challenge, I was super excited because I love the idea of celebrating women of color and providing information about the success stories over the years. When searching for one in particular I wanted to find one that was more modern. Don’t get me wrong, you should learn historical figures and that is always important, but I feel that is everyone’s “go to” when you go through Black History Month. Well, no offense, but you don’t have to go that far back to learn about successful, innovative black women! In fact, in my search I found tons of articles with hundreds of women that are successful with businesses right here, right now in 2021. They should be celebrated and talked about because guess what? You could be supportive of their business endeavors versus just talking about the invention created 50 years ago etc.

As I searched, my mind kept going back to one person in particular that unfortunately wasn’t showing up in any of the articles I read. I realized that this is the person that should be discussed as she should be getting a ton more media coverage than what she is getting currently. Who may you ask? Well, her name is Mikaila Ulmer. You might be scratching your head trying to think of where you have heard that name and if you even know anyone by that name. Unless you have watched Shark Tank you may not have, but once I tell you about this wonderful human being you will be glad to know who she is! Mikaila is a “sweet” 16-year-old young woman. You may be thinking “Well most 16-year-olds aren’t that extraordinary, who is this person? Why so much praise”? Well, you see, Mikaila’s story starts well before her 16th birthday.

Mikaila was born in 2005, and in 2009 Mikaila was already selling lemonade in her front yard! The recipe was inspired by her grandmother and it used honey. (Wiki) She started this endeavor because she was in fact stung by a bee. She decided instead of moping around like most four-year-olds would, to study bees and learn about all the good they do. This inspired her to also donate some of her profits. (Bees) Are you freaking kidding me! A four-year-old did this?! When I was four, I was playing with barbies and wondering how I could cut my sister’s bangs in her sleep. I must not have the entrepreneur spirit in my veins like this little one. In fact, she made more of an adult decision than most adults (let’s be honest its true). In 2015, Mikaila appeared on Shark Tank with her father and you guessed it, she was given an offer to help her business thrive by Daymond John. Mikaila has also visited former President Barack Obama and her product is sold in 500 stores (wiki). Whew, when I was 15, I was worried about what boys like me.

If that isn’t enough to impress you or blow your mind with what this amazing you woman has accomplished then I will also tell you that Mikaila still works with a foundation called Healthy Hive Foundation to save the bees, and she has published her first book “Bee Fearless, Dream Like a Kid”. (bees) She is going places and has honestly inspired me a 34-year-old, wondering if my fiancé is going to eat the rest of his fries. I know, dream big Tara! Honestly, all jokes aside, I think this girl is going places and we haven’t seen the last of her. She will have something else for us to look at in awe undoubtedly here in the near future. I truly hope that you enjoyed learning about this woman as I did. I hope her story also convinces you to reach for the stars. Due to copyright, I have not included a picture of her but I do encourage you to look her and her company up and to support her future endeavors. Her business is called “Me and the Bees Lemonade” and her book can be found online for purchase.

Works Cited

Our Sweet Story. (2021). Me & the Bees Lemonade. https://www.meandthebees.com/pages/about-

Wikipedia contributors. (2020, December 11). Mikaila Ulmer. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mikaila_Ulmer 

career
2

About the Creator

Tara C.

Born as a military brat, Tara had lived and visited the four corners of the U.S. Having experienced trauma growing up, Tara found her love of wiring as a wonderful outlet to share her experiences with others. Tara currently resides in the Midwest and still enjoys writing in her free time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.