Viva logo

Man vs. Woman

Who is superior?

By Kat HerbertPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

This age old question has had men and women arguing and fighting for decades. Which sex is stronger, more mentally and emotionally fit? More secure and balanced? Probing for an answer, I began to do some investigating of my own to settle the score and my beliefs.

As far back as anyone can remember, we were always told, the man of the house worked the hard labor, highly skilled jobs for many hours a day. They financially supported their family and did whatever side work needed to keep them stable. The men would make all the decisions within the household, kept it running smoothly and had everyone in line. If something was needed, the man would go, sometimes even traveling for days, to retrieve it. They were the head of the household and were very highly respected.

On the contrary, the women in these times, took care of the house. Always making sure there was home cooked meals, children were taken care of and the house was cleaned. The wives would get up with their husbands at the crack of dawn, making sure their lunches were packed and they had food in their stomachs before the men were on their way to work. The laundry was hand scrubbed and hung out to dry each day. This may not have seemed like a lot however this was still work, just there was no monetary value to it. Recognized or not.

Let us fast forward to this day and age. Many things have changed since then while some remain the same. I have noticed some men are taking a step back and staying home with the children to allow their wives to advance in their career. Kudos to those at-home-dads dealing with the 2 year old temper tantrums and kids screaming like banshees! I do not envy you but as a mother, have definitely been there before. Changing diapers, taking children to activities and running the house is definitely an under-appreciated task. We do appreciate you!

Women have advanced quite a bit since the past of hand washing linens. They are more highly skilled, entering the workforce and not just at entry level jobs. Some are even taking over with their leadership qualities or starting their own businesses. I am really impressed with how far they have come today. I have also seen women work a 9-5, then go home, clean their house, make dinner and deal with the children. Or, even work two jobs just to keep their household afloat. Super moms! We are like the energizer bunny that just keeps going.

But have men and women in today's society finally became equal? Some will say yes and some no. It definitely has moved forward but in my opinion, we are not there yet. I am yet to see a woman president ruling a nation. That would be the deciding factor of balance for me.

The wonder of this, does keep me in awe. The female species taking on an entire country with their caring and loving characteristics. Their motherly instincts. Can you picture the difference between this dream and reality we have now? Some aspects of a Mrs. President do scare me though. How would she react in a war? Reflexes may kick in but you certainly cannot give the warring country a time out. Will there be home baked pastries and freshly squeezed orange juice at all meetings? All joking aside, this is something I do want to see and experience in my lifetime.

So, you may ask who I feel is the superior sex in my books? The one who can push a watermelon out of a lemon is my number 1, A+! Sorry hubby of mine but the women won this one.

gender roles
1

About the Creator

Kat Herbert

I am a mother of 5. I enjoy sharing my stories, especially about my life. Not many have been through what I have. My mother always said to me, "Your life is like a novel. Write it." So here I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.