Viva logo

"Just Relax" Doesn't Work

PCOS is just a b*tch.

By Renee VasquezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
"Just Relax" Doesn't Work
Photo by Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

I've gone to the doctors many a times gotten enough tests to not want to go to the doctors anymore. About a year ago I was officially diagnosed with PCOS. Don't get me wrong it was nice to finally know what was going on with my body and know somewhat what I have to do to control it but there isn't an official manual on how to navigate it all.

The symptoms for PCOS not the best let me tell you. There is first off the infertility, which sucks! I love babies (children) I've wanted to have a baby for as long as I could remember. Every time we we're around friends or family that have babies it's like let me give you a break give me the baby go do your own thing. It's just a motherly instinct thing I think I've always had since I was a child. Next there is the irregular menstrual cycle, now surprises aren't my thing really, I usually like to know when something is going to happen or I like to plan it out so this doesn't work for me. Then you got hair loss, great I don't want to go bald in my twenties but there is also hirsutism, which is excessive hair growth... just not on your head. My wallet did not like all the laser hair removal sessions I had. Acne, who doesn't love some good adult acne? If it wasn't bad when you were a teen and you think hey my hormones with balance themselves when I'm an adult goodbye acne! Psych! Borderline diabetic, high levels of insulin/ insulin resistance, check. Anxiety, polycystic ovaries, easy weight gain all checks. Reading all this and finally typing it out it just feels like my body is against me.

When talking to people who don't have PCOS or don't really know what it is it's hard. Why? Well being told not to stress out you'll get pregnant. Isn't there a medication you can take? Why don't you just lose weight and I'm sure you'll get pregnant. Just relax, it'll happen when it's suppose to. All of these questions or statements don't help. I've tried it's all not that easy. Tell me who can live absolutely stress free? The medication has side affects as well and they aren't a walk in the park either. Don't even get me started on doctors putting you on birth control! Maybe it's just me but when given the choice between having no period and a fake one that you don't ovulate with I'll choose the first one. Losing weight not that easy either the weigh is also in the most obnoxious place too. Don't tell me to just relax do that is an automatic stress creator. It also doesn't help that the people that are usually telling you to relax are also the people asking when are you going to have a baby every time you see them.

Let someone chose how to navigate their infertility their way. If they have questions just answer them if they ask for your opinion then give it if not don't. That easy. Just be there to listen, if you haven't gone through it how are you suppose to give advice on it? Plus everyone's body is different, I'm in my late twenties and I'm still learning something new almost everyday. To all the ladies that have PCOS or any type of infertility issue and has found a way to start their own family I applaud and commend you. I know how hard it is and you are goals keep putting in that hard work.

health
1

About the Creator

Renee Vasquez

I’m trying to understand my life..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.