Viva logo

Ini Edo Gets Honest About Having Child Through Surrogacy

Ini talks surrogacy

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1

Nollywood actress Ini Edo shocked fans and the general public world over when she announced the birth of her daughter, especially because she was unmarried and never pregnant. When Ini revealed that she had the baby through surrogacy, reactions were mixed with many people still not being fully educated on surrogacy or the journey. Now, in a new interview with Toke Moments, Ini Edo is speaking about her surrogacy journey, as well as talking about the only regret she has now about the whole thing. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about surrogacy journey, Ini Edo said:

INI EDO: It wasn't a decision that I just said "oh I'm going to go on and do this", I just knew that I wanted to have a child. And it wasn't just happening the way I wanted it to happen so that was an option that was open to me. How did I feel carrying all those people that I'm carrying and then wanting to? I just knew that God would see me through. I didn't know what to expect or how the turnout would be or how the world would perceive it. At some point, I wasn't bothered about that. What really bothered me at that time was would I be able to love her as if I'd carried her? Would she be an okay baby? Would she be beyond an okay baby? I had those reservations and those concerns that bothered me. But then with a lot of conversations, research, and just going to meet the professionals and weighing my options, and just reading up on it - I realized that there was absolutely no difference.

Speaking about what she wishes she'd done sooner, Ini Edo said:

INI EDO: The meaning of my name is God's time. I'm somebody that believes in the right time and at the right time, when it's God's time. I don't believe in jumping the gun, I believe in taking life step by step. But I still feel like I should have done this way before now. I promise you. In fact, the fact that I did it alone is even what sort of triggers me the most because I feel like if I could do this, why didn't I just do this all the while? What was I waiting for? I was waiting for the right person. I wanted to do it with a man. I am my father's favorite, growing up I was my father's pet so for me, a father figure in a child's life especially a female child's life was so important. Because my relationship with my father was so enviable, that's what I wanted to be able to have. But nobody knows tomorrow, and if I knew, I would have done it and I would have had like 3 [kids] by now.

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going! I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.