Viva logo

How long will daughters be persecuted?

A father gives you her soul ' her daughter', still you need luxury :(

By Zeeshan Mushtaq LonePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
How long will daughters be persecuted?
Photo by Syed Fahim Haider on Unsplash

[Voice of a girl]

Yes! I'm a girl, a sister, a daughter, a wife, a mother and also a grandmother. But, still I'm nothing to this world. I'm a pilot, an astronaut, a teacher, a doctor and I'm everything, still I'm nothing. I give my happiness for my family, leave my family to build a family, still I'm nothing. Who am I? Please...

When I was a child, the world told me to be quiet, you are a girl. Who is this world? In my childhood, I saw how husbands fight and lash on their wives. Why do they do so? When I grew, I saw how the girls became acid victims. Why only girls? When I got married, I saw how in the name of 'dowry', I was harassed. Why is money more important than me?

I'm lost in Atlantis! No one can find me now. This world is supposed to kill me, damage me and take advantage of me. Why is there so much aversion for me? I'm your sister, your daughter, your wife and your future generation. Oh! World, why do you still hate me? I was also born as you do. I also passed the 9 months in my mom's womb. I also was born dumb like you. Then why do you speak harshly to me? I'm also the star of my parents, the light of their eyes and hope of their future. Then why do you kill me?

I got married a year ago, with a boy whom I never loved. My parents forced me to marry him. So for the happiness of my family, I did so. Before marriage, my father-in-law acted as the angle on the earth. He promised my parents to consider me as her own daughter. Soon after we got married, my father-in-law demanded me a fridge, a washing machine, a TV and a car. He told me to bring all these within a fortnight otherwise don't enter into the house. I resisted for some time, but one day I told him that my parents can't even arrange daily meals for themselves, how can they give me such lavish things. My father-in-law slapped me on my face and went away. I cried, but there was no one to listen to me. My father never slapped me, he never told me bad words. He always loved me more than anything, but my father-in-law slapped me like I was an animal to him. I reported everything to my husband. I expected him to be polite with me, but he wasn't. He caged me into his legs and pulled my hair and went away by saying, 'this is not your father's home'. I was the Rapunzel of my dad. He combed my hair daily and applied oil to it. But, in a no matter of time, my husband pulled my beautiful hair. I again cried, but still in vain. This happened to me for at least a year. Then one day, my husband and my father-in-law planned a trap. I won't say what was the trap, because I fear anyone with his evil mind can use that to kill a girl. The trap was to kill me as my husband had an offer from a girl, who gave her every kind of fortune. They wanted to get rid of me, by killing me and pretending as if I killed myself. They almost succeeded in their trap, but actually they failed. I was in hospital for 3 years, I lost my beauty, my hair, my youth and my everything. My husband divorced me, and married the lavish girl who gave her 'dowry'. After three years of fighting for life in the hospital, I died and here my story ended. But wait, I died not the dowry.

This is not all oh life. I'm still oppressed because I'm a girl. No one listens to me, because I'm a girl. No one cares for me, because I'm a girl. What do those people think of themselves who misbehave with their wives? They might be thinking themselves to be brave. But, let me tell them one thing, fighting with a girl is the weakest act a man can ever do. You are not brave, you are a real jackal.

Why is there no end to the dowry? Why no one is speaking about this? Is this because it is the matter of girls? I cry in front of the world, please pay heed to us. We are in danger, no one is supporting us. Please, stop this dowry. I'm also having a dream, a passion and an aim in my life. When you kill a girl, you kill four generations; a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. Between 0.6 and 2.8 brides per year per 100,000 women are reported to die because of dowry-related violence in recent years. The methods of death include suicides, fire and other forms of domestic violence.

Please world, I need your support! No more deaths please.

feminism
2

About the Creator

Zeeshan Mushtaq Lone

I'm a student and I also have conducted a marketing survey with ITC Limited. Multinational conglomerate company.

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.