Viva logo

How Is This My Fault?

But seriously. It's not.

By Kyle FergusonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is a constant battle back and forth; one neither side can win. At the moment, it's just women yelling at a brick wall as men don't really have a decent argument. But, we actually do. Women want to be heard, which is understandable. They want change and a way to tip the scales to be equal. I mean, this is my pure, unadulterated non-rage version. I don't like what feminism has become so I'm going to focus on the message it was supposed to have. Here is my defence for all the men out there constantly in a battle to the death with a dragon that doesn't understand four words. Four simple words. ITS NOT OUR FAULT.

Hold on, let me explain first.

This generation of men actually see women as beautiful beings that have complete power to raise or destroy their livelihood. Look at the dynamic of modern relationships?

Why can't you go out with the boys this weekend? The misses said so.

Not allowed to teach your child a brand new hilarious swear word? The misses said so (although that's just good parenting, but still).

Girlfriend doesn't like your mother? Shit happens. Get a new girlfriend. I'm kidding of course, but the concept is still there. Yes, we love a hot thang' every now and again, but that's just pure admiration, born out of wonder of how something so beautiful could be in our proximity. Come on girls, if Channing Tatum bust out a Magic Mike dance move you'd be all up in that hot ass faster than you could scream "I'm actually objectifying men too."

Equal Pay

Contrary to popular belief, this pay issue is not actually our fault whatsoever. Well, at least our generation's. Who the fuck do you think sits and makes the rules? Definitely not Brad, 20 years old from Liverpool. I doubt he somehow went from 0-100 and now governs the Department Of Work & Pensions before his 21st birthday. In fact, I bet Brad actually isn't aware of the pay of the opposite gender for the same role he works as.

NOT OUR FAULT.

Power Positions

Another thing regarding job roles, I read somewhere that there are less women in managerial roles than there are men, which is odd because every job I've worked at has had either a female director or female manager, but maybe that's just my area in particular. Once again, this a quick way for a feminist to win an argument that technically should've been made with the previous generation. In fact, I'm actually sick and tired of watching men within my age spectrum have to apologise for shit they technically didn't do in the first place. ITS NOT OUR FAULT OUR ELDERS LOVED THE PATRIARCHAL SOCIETY SO MUCH. I mean, haven't you dissected Of Mice And Men'? A book written in 1937. How the fuck is this our fault?

Insert title here, please.

Something crossed my eyes the other day that kinda made me mad, kinda.

It was a Tweet about, wait hang on, let me search for it because it was ridiculous and it was shared so many times by women. All I know is it annoyed me so much I couldn't actually put into simple words of how wrong it was, so I'm just going to quote someone who replied perfectly to it.

'Ummm... this is actually incorrect...

Ms. and Mr. are the same title, Both are the formal for Adult Female or Male...Both are used if the subject is married or single.

Miss and Master "insert name" are the same title... Unwed usually children. (Do not confuse master with Rank two different things)

Mrs. is actually the only title that has no equal for the male gender. and this title is used for married females. It is also not because they are putting importance on being attached to a male. It does, however, denote profession. This is the same as a male being ____ Esquire or "Smith" Haha bet you thought that was because of simply the last name... virtually all without noble title, were identified by their profession, this is why some older last names seem so odd. Smith, Woodcock, Hunter, and so on.'

He nailed it. And also, not our fucking fault. Do you even know how far back this goes? Me neither.

The Tweet

The finale. Get ready to rage at me.

Okay, so now I've cleared a few points up for an imaginary version of feminism that didn't focus on women trying to be superior, it just wanted equality. Then again, I bet you dollars to doughnuts that you petty feminists out there just hopped, skipped, and leapt straight to "Oh look, he's mansplaining." Bee Tea Dubz, what the fuck is mansplaining anyway? it's seems like an oppressive word used to dismiss any valid points a man has in his defence. Kinda ironic right? Using oppression to fight a new generation that just wants to love you and help you win your fight of oppression? Anyway, as Deadpool said best, Who Fucking Cares?

feminism
Like

About the Creator

Kyle Ferguson

I’m anti-everyone

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.