Viva logo

“Hitting a wall”

What I didn’t know about vaginismus

By Elysia LaidlawPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
“Hitting a wall”
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Sex. It’s a very normal part of life that it’s usually enjoyable for the average person. But there are some instances where this is not the case. This is something I know all too well.

I remember the first time I heard the term “hitting the wall” during sex. Even during foreplay, they said they were hitting a wall. I didn’t know what they were talking about at first, but when we tried penetration I started to understand what this term meant. It was a VERY painful occurrence and no matter how much lube or foreplay (which was also painful), the pain was EXCRUCIATING and it had to be stopped.

A few days later I decided to look up what it meant to “hit a wall” during sex and one word popped up more than once - vaginismus.

Vaginismus an automatic reaction where your vaginal muscles tighten up whenever penetration is attempted, hence why it may feel like there’s a wall blocking the penis entering the vagina.

One thing I kept asking myself was ‘why?’. Why is this happening to me. But it happens to a lot more people than I initially realized.

It was so bad that I couldn’t even insert a tampon and had to stick to using pads. Another time it was really difficult was when I had to insert a pessary and almost cried out in pain because my vagina was that swollen and red that anything going near that area was the MOST painful thing I had ever felt in my life.

I’d never really spoken about it because I was scared of what people would say, so I kept it to myself for about 2 years, but after constant research I realized that it’s more normal than most people could think and it’s not as much of a taboo subject as I made out.

Not only did I have vaginismus, but I had excessive vagina dryness on top of that so anytime something went into that area it was ridiculously uncomfortable for me.

I’m yet to go to a doctor about it, because I read that a treatment of vaginismus is to have Botox inserting into the vagina to allow it to open up; something that freaks me out as I do not like needles.

Right now in my life I don’t allow sexual penetration because it’s far too uncomfortable for me but hopefully soon I will be able to enjoy sex and not live in pain anymore.

health
2

About the Creator

Elysia Laidlaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.