Viva logo

Free Britney

And all women for that matter

By Mandy JewellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I feel fired up. I watched "Framing Britney Spears." If you had told me in my early 20s that in my early 40s I would be feeling empathetic towards Britney Spears, I would have tied my flannel shirt around my waist, turned up my Cure CD, and laughed in your face. But I am older, wiser, and now...I care about stuff. Watching this documentary made me think that what is happening to Britney, is happening to all of us. And by us, I mean all of womankind.

Conservatorship: Say What?

A conservatorship is "is a legal concept whereby a court appoints a person to manage an incapacitated person or minor's financial and personal affairs." This is traditionally for individuals who can no longer make decisions for themselves, are no longer able to work, and need someone of sound mind to make decisions regarding their finances and other affairs.

Britney Spears' father has one of these over her. She is still able to work, able to make decisions, and definitely not incapacitated. So why does her father have so much power? I will tell you why. If any woman shows the slightest bit of weakness, imperfection, or frustration, they are considered to be unfit. Unfit to make their own decisions and live their lives how they see fit. In this particular case, because Jamie Spears is a greedy, selfish man. This greed and selfishness has taken away his daughter's freedom.

So What does this have to do with me?

I am a female musician in my hometown. I would never dream of comparing myself to Britney Spears, or anyone of any relevance whatsoever. After 20 years of playing music, I have discovered that I have to work harder. Work harder to be taken seriously. Write songs and play a music at a much higher level than men do. And when I can't, I am judged. Not only am I judged on my actual talent, but what I wear, how I look, my attitude, my personality...everything. It can be so frustrating that it made me just want to give up. Is that fair? Was it fair for Britney?

Britney was constantly being judged on what she wore, who she dated, her sex life, how she raised her children, and her entire existence. Sometimes while sitting in her car at a gas station with cameras and flashing lights in her face. When she shaved her head, she was also judged, when really all she wanted was for people to stop touching her, to stop treating her like she wasn't human. And now, all she wants to do is have control over her career, which is a basic human right.

Would a man have to endure this?

Possibly. I am in no way saying a man can't be judged. They are just judged differently. It is very difficult to describe, but it just isn't the same. Women tend to be judged on superficial things, their clothes, their hair, and who they are dating. When a woman gets upset about these things, she is considered to be unstable. That is typically when someone else swoops in and takes control. Is Britney not supposed to get upset? Is she not allowed to have feelings without getting her rights taken away? That is the kind of judgement that can destroy someone's life.

Working harder

So what happens now? I guess we just have to work harder. Be better at what we do. But at what cost? Are we able to show our emotions, get angry, and stand up for ourselves? Of course. But be prepared to be judged for it. Be prepared to fight harder for what should already belong to you. Not only do we need to Free Britney, but we need to free ourselves from this stigma. That we can't have feelings and be a boss lady at the same time.

I hope Britney finds freedom. I hope we all do.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Mandy Jewell

I am a freelance writer, musician, free-thinker, and single Mom from the Dayton, OH. Let's speak louder, ladies!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.