Viva logo

Catcalling Is NOT a Compliment

Poetry for subjugated women

By Cyn KittPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

For most, the ideology that catcalling is not flattery of any sort, is pretty clear. But it’s for those who don’t see catcalling as problematic that we must shine light to such a curable annoyance. Now, catcalling can be binary, but it’s an alarming amount of men that don’t see any harm in objectifying women. It is more annoying than anything else being one step away from physical harrasment,yet, guys have been getting a bit more creative during Covid-19. It took a pandemic to finally bring relief to Westernized women. Yes!, finally, we can protect ourselves not only from germs, but predators as well. The masks that are tirelessly stressed and emphasized by the FdA and the CDC are now a requirement for any social activity. They cover roughly 50% of face, aren't very cute nor comfortable but very practical. Now, I wear sunglasses on the norm so that typically - yea you get the gist. 100% face-covered. Ladies, our faces are literally hidden from the outside world. Shut out. Blinders. Yet, somehow, an ultra pesty, persistent prowling man will still manage to holla'. It is beyond me. A study from the Stop Street Harassment organization, showed that 99% of women have experienced some form of street harassment.

That means that a larger portion of women have been a target of sexist comments at least 26 times in their lives, kissing noises at least 25 times, and followed at least 6 times. So on a more serious note, besides the fact that street calling women is a daily occurrence, it is making our women feel unsafe. In a society where women are already subjugated in every aspect of ourselves, why enhance the oppression.

Many a times the woman would feel comfortable enough, if that level of attraction is there to be pretentious in her endeavors to acquire her man. Extra, forced and unrequited energy is just unnecessary, fellas I truly believe that they should create classes in middle school on body language. How to Read the Language of a Woman; a Tell all on how the facial expressive and verbal and non verbal communicative can be indicative of a nix . I created a short piece of poetry that serves as an expression of the significance and disdain of catcalling women, based on victims that are friends, sisters, mothers and Queens.

I don’t know why they call it catcalling cuz’ you beckon me so dog like,

You whistle do Dad like cept’ you’re not my Dad and I don’t feel safe.

You yell words that mean love, but I just feel hate, you wonder why I

Rock a straight face.

Why I pull my skirt down?

Why I pick up my pace?

I can be so confident but you make me uncomfortable.

You whisper your fantasies, while licking your lips like I am a lunchable.

“Good morning, beautiful” you say, eye raping young girls cuz’ her grown hips sway.

Don’t care that she’s jailbait.

You’ll hit it anyway, you say this to my face.

As I walk away I get a “that’s why you’re ugly anyway”.

So you couldn’t think of no other words to say.

I would’ve settled for a “alright, have a good day, miss”

And if I snatched back my dignity you took from me I’d hold my hands out and say

Cover your eyes, my body is not for your enjoyment

Years down the line, your daughter will think this is a compliment.

She’ll be dependent on men to build up her confidence.

I’d say I’m sorry for your miseducation of women

I apologize for that what’s between my thighs holds you unaccountable.

body
3

About the Creator

Cyn Kitt

I don't have many friends so I come to you like an open book to vomit my pain, pleasures and political views. Thank you and please enjoy my transparency as much as I enjoy writing about them <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.