Viva logo

Bullied for Having big Breasts.

I was bullied to a point of shame because I had big breasts.

By Carol TownendPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9
Bullied for Having big Breasts.
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

I started developing breasts at around 11 years old, and within a few months, I went from an A cup to a D cup. In a year I had hit the DD sizes and I experienced many difficulties finding bras that fit me properly.

I desperately tried to cover my breasts by wearing baggy clothes, which often made them worse. In high school, I hated my school uniform because it would enhance their size. I was called names such as 'terrible big tits' and the other teens in my class would stab at them with sharp objects such as compass needles which caused me a lot of pain. I hated physical education and games, because I had to suffer the ordeal of getting changed in front of the others, and I had to put up with the other girls touching them.

It wasn't just the girls who attempted to touch them. There were also boys who would attempt to touch them and stab them with sharp items too. I was also sexually abused at school several times by teenagers when I hit my senior years at high school, pushed against walls by groups who would also punch me and rip my top off just to get to them. I walked in the shadows of shame and embarrassment, and at one point, I begged my doctor to reduce them. I got to a point where I would make any excuse up, not to go to school. I never told any of my teachers about this because I felt ashamed, and I fell silent in an attempt to avoid more physical abuse.

Once I reached adulthood my cup size had grown to a DD and finally an F. I was discriminated against in many shops that didn't cater for my size, and had the cheek to tell me that my breasts were 'abnormally big.' I was also still putting up with the taunting and sexual remarks made by adults who would also touch my breasts and tell me I should get a 'breast reduction.'

I caved in. I was already dealing with eating disorders because I no longer liked my body, and I took up obsessive exercising in secret, as a desperate attempt to reduce my breasts. I hated myself both physically and emotionally, because I was made to feel different from other girls, simply because I had big breasts. It was only after I reached adulthood that I found more shops catering for my size. I had to shop online for them, so I started using Amazon. When I first wore them, I made myself uncomfortable by trying to fit into smaller bras in an attempt to make them look reduced. I was bullied harshly for not being able to wear padded bras or latex bras because I had an allergy to latex bras and padded bras made my breasts uncomfortable.

It took me years before I felt comfortable wearing a bra, and I wouldn't attempt to wear a tankini or a bikini for fear of being assaulted both sexually and verbally, by both men and women. I spent over 7 years of my adult life uncomfortable wearing tight tops and low tops because of being taunted over my breasts. I would wear them, but only if I could hide under a baggy top.

Today, I am more body confident and I love my body just the way it is. I still have to use larger bras, but I find bralets more comfortable to wear. I now wear tight tops, strappy tops, and tankinis. Though this didn't happen overnight, I spent years addressing my body confidence in therapy, and many years deeply hating myself before I could do these things again.

Children and Teenagers develop at different rates, and even they come in all different shapes and sizes. I know many other teenage girls who live with shame over the size of their breasts because they are picked on for it. We need to ensure that our children, whether female or male, grow up respecting the physical differences of each gender, and we need to teach them that touching without consent is wrong, even if it is with another object. We need them to grow into adults who appreciate the sexual make-up of each other, and we need to educate them on the differences between abusive and non-abusive behavior. Sexual education at my school focused mostly on pregnancy and how to avoid that, we spoke about the sexual nature in how women and men develop, but sexual bullying, assault, and taunting was a subject that was deeply avoided. Today children are taught about sex and sexual awareness in schools, but in many schools, they are not taught much about breasts and other intimate parts of the body that shouldn't be touched without consent. They are not taught about how bullying a person for their sexual make-up can cause problems. They are simply taught how not to get pregnant. However, until they are taught about sexual awareness and sexual respect, more women are going to be taunted over their breast sizes, rape is going to happen and we are going to still be in the trap of a disrespectful society that hurts people.

Of course, contraception is taught in schools, but what about respecting the physical aspects of the body? Many children grow up believing that touching another person and making sexual remarks and touching is a bit of fun. They do not understand the physcological damage that it can cause in other young people. The only way to address this is through teaching it in schools, and by allowing parents to access materials that can aid in teaching it themselves, not just through online systems, but through educational resources such as books.

Did you enjoy this article? then please leave a heart or alternatively, you could leave an optional tip.

You can also read more here:

https:/vocal.media/authors/carol-townend

body
9

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.