Viva logo

BLACK INNOVATION

YOUTH INNOCENCE

By Lisa BrasherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
BLACK INNOVATION
Photo by Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

Say what?? You want me to narrow this story down to just one person? This was my reaction to this month's writing challenge. The challenge is to pick a black person whom I admire that has been an innovator, inventor, or creator. The actual challenge is there are too many to choose from. Alas, the educator in me wins out yet again. I choose Bellen Woodard.

Bellen Woodard, a young lady of nine, short years, is fairly new on the innovation scene. I read an article about her in a magazine and tucked her name away on a post-it note in my brain. When this challenge came across my virtual desk, I did the obligatory Google search. Miss Woodard is a fresh voice in this current, toxic culture of "complain about this" and "I'm so offended by that". She is redefining "be the change you want to see".

Bellen is a self-professed "crayon activist". She is the creator of "More Than Peach" crayons. Her goal is to put multicultural crayons in the hands of every student so no one feels left out. Personally, this teacher is surprised the idea hasn't happened sooner. My students frequently complained of crayon colors not being right for drawing themselves in artwork. The color my students inevitably always chose for skin of nearly all skin colors was peach. Incidentally, this is the color Bellen chose for the title of her project, and the color she wants to eliminate as the only color used to represent universal skin color.

During my research, I learned that black businesses, particularly those owned by women, are on the rise. These businesses represent a wide variety of fields including small business, restaurant, design, and photography. They have contributed job attributes such as engineering, philosophy, and discovery. All this, in spite of COVID and racial tension! Enter Miss Woodard to enhance this trend!

Bellen Woodard is only beginning her journey of making a difference in this world. Yet, I admire her more than most adults affecting change currently. You see, she took an idea directly affecting her small world of school and classmates. She worked from the ground up being the only black student in her classes, and dipping into her own savings account. From there she went on to build a 501k, non-profit business that has even inspired the "Big Brands" to make some changes. Bellen's goal has always been to empower, build, and support with an emphasis on gifted education.

When it comes right down to it, I would much rather spend my time and creativity writing about someone making positive changes in this world. The latest idiocy bandwagon banning Aunt Jemima this and Mr. Potatohead that, and do not even get this educator started on the Dr. Seuss hypocrisy (because you know that person grew up on his books, who didn't?!) just simply does not deserve media attention, let alone my time! Bellen is a breath of fresh air; a child being raised right in a world gone so very wrong. She has that childlike innocence that does not see race or color or gender when she picks up a crayon. Bellen Woodard just does not want any student or teacher to feel left out of the crayon box. She provides students with packets of crayons called "Palette Packages" and sketchpads. Who knows? Her multicultural supplies could be grooming the next Picasso!

I sincerely hope Miss Bellen continues to gain fame and make history. She already colors outside the lines, so to speak. At least she spends her time constructively rather than finding offense with wholesome, childhood memories. She reminds her followers that her "More Than Peach" Project is about more than just crayons. Bellen's quote says it all, "Be you. Be brilliant". And my favorite, "There's no coloring rule book...now back to my drawing." Love Bellen

history
1

About the Creator

Lisa Brasher

Start writing...I am a retired teacher. I taught elementary school for 30 years. I have written. short. stories and poems . I. am. looking. to. become. a full. time writer. . I live. in ,Houston Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.