Viva logo

Being Told I Have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome

Why I openly talk about it, how my excessive weight gain was finally making sense, & how a fertility clinic helped me.

By N.M.EPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
38 weeks pregnant

When I was growing up I never really paid much attention to when my monthly period would come. I always had painful cramping but after I turned 18 they seemed to get worse. My mum advised that I start writing down the date when I get my period, I started this in 2012 by simply writing it on my iPhone notes. Soon I noticed that my periods were super irregular but I did not think much of it at the time, I just thought that was why some months were more painful than others.

I have in my previous pieces of writing mentioned struggling with my weight, I did not even eat much yet was gaining weight like someone who was eating for three. At on point I was size 18 and felt very ashamed of myself, being in secondary school did not help as I was constantly called names. In the years to come I would starve myself, go on diets and try my best to exercise even though I hated the gym. All this effort needed to be maintained otherwise I would gain a lot of weight back and quick. Fast forward to 2014 at the age of 23 and now married. I was still monitoring my periods, I never knew when to expect my period and before my period would come I would get real sick, similar to early pregnancy symptoms. Of course there were times I would check if I was pregnant as my period would be missing for 2-3 months, but then get a negative test result. I began researching what causes irregular periods and started reading about PCOS.

The NHS website said some of the common symptoms were

  • Irregular periods or no periods
  • Fertility issues (due to irregular ovulation or failure to ovulate)
  • Excessive hair growth
  • Weight gain
  • Thinning hair and hair loss
  • Oily skin or acne

I was married for three years at this point and although I only spoke to my closest family and friends about it, I did feel as though it was a topic never discussed in the Somali community. During those three years people would comment on why I did not have a child, if I was preventing myself from getting pregnant etc. At first it would annoy me to the point that I would write direct poems about this and post them on my social media accounts, but gradually I stopped caring. It was during this time that I realised how important it was to speak about individual experiences. The amount of responses I got from other sisters who felt the same way but did not know how to express themselves was overwhelming. This is why I am writing about having PCOS now because it could help another woman who is currently feeling this way.

In June 2016 I finally went to go see my GP, who referred me to a fertility clinic. Our doctor was very blunt and she told me that for my height I am obese, I would need to lose a lot of weight before she would continue. It did piss me off because I thought surely it is not just my weight as heavier people get pregnant, but then again not all heavier people have PCOS. So I began a diet and for the first two weeks of eating salads and fruits I was very moody and aggressive but it paid off. I lost 10kg before my follow up appointment which was set 3 months later. I walked into that appointment so proud of myself and the doctor said she didn't even want to weigh me as she could see from my face that I lost weight. This is when my fertility treatment started, alhamduliah I did not need multiple cycles of treatment or injections. I was given (Clomid) tablets to take when my period did come which would help my body ovulate. Shortly after we found out that we were expecting alhamduliah, during the first 7 months of pregnancy I did not gain any weight. However the last two months I gained the 10 kg I lost back. I had a difficult and tiring pregnancy but alhamduliah currently I am back trying to lose weight again.

I guess I will always have to maintain and be conscious of my weight because of this. I am not ashamed of having PCOS and neither should any woman who is going through this. I do not know why we are told to keep quiet about things like this but it is time to break out of this cycle and at least be a support system for each other.

If anyone wants to talk to me further about this feel free to DM me on instagram @mrsnmelmi or email me [email protected]

health
Like

About the Creator

N.M.E

My passion is sharing my experiences through words, I've been writing poetry for over a decade and recently self-published my first book titled 'Letters on my tongue' which can be found on Amazon. Thanks for stopping by :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.