Viva logo

2k22's Hottest Summer Bods of Sports & Entertainment 6

A word with The Jewel of the Big South

By Winners OnlyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Sean Kelly, Karimah, Madison & Jewel

Madison Murry

Madison Murry

Madison Murry's first two seasons at Youngstown State as a hurdler have been very successful. As a freshman in 2021, the rookie made an instant splash by winning the Horizon League 60-meter hurdles championship during indoor season. As a sophomore she came back and claimed a silver medal at the indoor conference meet in the 60-meter hurdles. Murry became a medalist during outdoor season when she won the gold in the 100-meter hurdles and silver in the 400-meter relay.

Sean Kelly Darks

Sean Kelly Darks

A guard on the North Carolina A&T basketball squad, Sean Kelly Darks is a 5-8 guard player who can handle business on both sides of the court. During her freshman in 2020-21, she averaged a career best 10.5 points while helping North Carolina A&T get to the NCAA Tournament. Over her career she has collected 64 steals in 41 games over two seasons. Last season she collected a season high four steals in a win over Winthrop. On the offensive side she shot a season best 6-8 from the field scoring 14 points in a win over Gardner-Webb.

Karimah Davis

Karimah Davis

Kentucky All-American and NCAA champion, Karimah Davis started her career at Florida State. As a Seminole she was an All-American as a member of the 400-meter relay team that placed seventh in the NCAA final during the 2019 outdoor season. After transferring to Kentucky she became an All-American in the 200 meters and 1,600-meter relay. She placed sixth at the NCAA meet in the 200 before earning a bronze medal in the 1,600-meter relay. During outdoor season Davis and her Kentucky teammates set an NCAA record with the fastest 1,600-meter relay finish of all-time. They won the SEC championship with a time of 3:21.93. They later won the NCAA gold at 3:22.55. Davis was also on the runner-up squad of the 400-meter relay at the NCAA outdoor meet.

Jewel Ash

A native of Vorhees, New Jersey, Jewel Ash is becoming one of the greatest athletes to ever compete at Charleston Southern University. During her sophomore season, Ash won her second straight 400-meter hurdles championship in the Big South conference with a time of 57.92. Ash spent a little time with us to discuss her excellence on the track as well as her dealings with mental health and confidence in her physique.

Jewel Ash

Winners Only: It's a pleasure to feature such a talented athlete. How much fun was it to have the success that you had last season and what was your proudest moment?

Jewel Ash: Thank you! That means a lot. It was a lot of fun to make it as far as I did last season. My proudest moment of the 2022 outdoor season was running my personal best of 57.1 in the 400 hurdles at my conference championships which were held at High Point University. I was so proud because if you would have asked my freshman year self how fast I thought I’d ever run, I would have probably said 58 seconds.

You're headed back to Charleston Southern correct?

Yes I am.

It's not a big name like a Texas, Florida, Kentucky but athletes like yourself have proven that you can thrive without being at a big-name school. What are the positives about being at a school like yours?

Coming out of high school I always thought that going to a school like the ones you named would make me a better athlete, but I soon realized after getting to Charleston Southern that the name of a school doesn’t define you as an athlete. It is the work ethic and attitude you’re willing to put into track and field, or any sport at that. The positives for me were the feeling of less pressure, being at CSU, in the Big South Conference. I feel that helps my anxiety and overthinking which is a critical part of being an athlete. The SEC, ACC, Big 10, etc., I realize wouldn’t even have been a good fit for me. I move at my own pace and worry about me all the way up until regionals where it’s a now or never mindset. I honestly thank God for placing CSU in my path, my coaches and team have helped me become the athlete I am today.

What was it like being at the East Preliminary with so many athletes that compete for a chance to go to the World Championships and even went there? Did you learn anything there to take to next season?

Honestly, the East Preliminary was a big learning lesson for me. It was definitely an experience I am so grateful for and an experience I will meet again. I often let my thoughts and doubts get to me which hinders my abilities and all that I’ve worked for during the season. I have been taking counseling to help with my mental health, because as an athlete you go through a lot. I am learning to focus on me and how to sustain that dog mentality you need in track and field.

We're gonna get to the body positivity talk but acknowledging mental health for the first time ever has become normalized. What type of thoughts do you have to drown out and how do you do so? Some people aren't able to overcome their own doubt.

I often throughout the season have thoughts of “What if I can’t get as good as them” or just simply comparing my times constantly to other athletes. You drain them out by realizing that as long as you’re worried about other athletes, you’ll never fully be able to focus on you and your progress.

You're catching the eyes of the Instagram world with your new beach photos. You appear to be happy and confident in your appearance. Is that true and has that ever been a battle for you?

I am very happy and confident currently in my appearance. In high school I struggled with my weight a lot in high school staying in the range of the 150s and no, it was hardly any muscle and consider that I am also 5-4, it really hindered me and my progress. When I got to college my coach sat me down and explained she saw my potential and how great I can be, but to get there I would have to cut down by eating healthier and do more than just practice once a day if I wanted that. So, considering myself and knowing what I had to do and how dedicated I was to getting to the weight I am now I am very happy and content with myself.

Was there one type of food that you hated giving up?

Mostly not eating fast food and drinking soda, but once I did it was honestly easy to forget about and not even crave anymore

Here's a thing we may not think about. A lot of people get pulled down by negative comments especially about their appearance on social media. But on the flipside when someone may send a compliment they complain about people "gawking" at them. Are you able to find motivation and reward when you get positive feedback on your body and tune anyone who isn't as positive?

I am always happy when people compliment me, it just feels good in my heart and it makes me happy that someone has noticed the progress I’ve made. I don’t pay anyone mind who has negative things to say about me anymore, mostly because I feel negative things said are usually a reflect of one’s character.

Finally time is moving on and indoor season will be here in a flash. What is your goals for that season?

My goals for this indoor is to simply make it to Indoor nationals for the 400

That's dope you got some of the best 400 sprinters ever in the game so it would be dope to see you in the mix. Thanks for your time.

Thank you too for the Q&A it was fun!

body
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.