Unbalanced logo

Women's Hoop Review XII

Kysre talks Wild, Wonderful, Winning West Virginia

By Winners OnlyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Kysre Gondrezick and Kirsten Deans

After reporting about West Virginia's hot 3-0 start, we decided to get on the road and see it for ourselves.

The Mountaineers improved to 4-0 and its high scoring guard Kysre Gondrezick lived up to all of the hype. The senior guard played every single second of the 79-73 overtime win against the Tennessee Lady Vols. Her career best performance of 27 points to go along with five assists, five steals and thee rebounds were special.

Gondrezick and her teammates had to grind out a win against a longer and taller basketball squad. Gondrezick, listed at 5-9 and her fellow guards 5-5 Madisen Smith and 5-8 Kirsten Deans got knocked and banged around but the trio only got tougher and stronger as the game developed.

Madisen Smith (30) and Kysre Gondrezick

After the game Gondrezick gave us a little time to discuss the game, her final season and the joy of playing in and for West Virginia.

That's right, West Virginia. Americans can be a bit unkind to its Appalachian neighbors. It is often disrespected and thought of as a rural, desolate place with little to nothing happening. While Gondrezick's favorite thing to do off the court in Morgantown, West Virginia is sleep, she and her gritty teammates are providing the town of about 30,000 a reason to stay awake and be proud.

Today you guys had a big match up against Tennessee. What does this victory mean to you guys.

It shows us our resilience and the competitive nature that we have. When we got ourselves lull we were able to dig it back out and capitalize it in overtime. I think we just gotta take that momentum moving forward. We play against Baylor next at home on Thursday, so we're gonna celebrate the win today and start back getting ready for Baylor tomorrow.

I saw that Tennessee was bigger and longer. It seemed like they were long at every position. What did that do to you all and how did you overcome it?

Yeah I know personally for me their length kind of bothered me a little me a little bit. We just had to make in-game adjustments and with the way they were us. They were overplaying me a lot. I was able to make adjustments going back door and basically create for others. But that's good for us. They're not going to be the only team that we went against that are long and athletic like that so the fact that we were able to get that victory and make in-game adjustments shows us the pros that we can have and stretch that momentum moving forward.

What are the expectations for this team. Are you all looking forward to a deep post season run?

One game at a time. Just one game at a time.

This is your final collegiate season. Did you see yourself at this point four years ago. What are the future expectations for yourself?

No the only expectation that I have is to buckle down defensively and play with more poise this year. I found myself kind of forcing things for a two-minute stretch and coach kind of got me back grounded, It's important for me as a senior to have that leadership and most importantly win. I'm not worried too much about individual accolades. If we win that stuff will take care of itself.

Ok let me ask you for some self-help. I can't shoot for crap. I don't know why. I'm just not good at it. How do I improve my jump shot so I can be like you.

You just gotta stay in the gym. When everybody else is out having fun those are the moments where you continue to get better. I predicate my time in doing that. I'm always putting up extra shots. Probably too much but hey it pays off in the long run.

So you're saying no fun for you at all?

That is fun. I'm 23 years old. The only focus I should have is going to school and playing ball.

Look at the discipline. Let me ask what led you here to West Virginia after transferring from Michigan?

I'm in love with this place. This is home for me. This place has changed my life. The people here and the coaching staff. The associate head coach Chester Nichols recruited me when he was at Michigan and he took the associate head coaching job here at West Virginia. When I decided to transfer he was one of the first people to call. I came here and fell in love with the place and haven't been back since.

West Virginia usually has a negative stigma.

I thought West Virginia was in Virginia.

Yeah, some people don't know where it is. Some people don't know it exists. Some people make fun of it. I have family here so I know about the negative stereotypes about the state and people in it. You say you love it here. Just share a little bit about what you love about West Virginia, because you rarely here outsiders publicly praise this state.

Yeah, just the people. My coach is like my dad. The girls, my teammates, the expectation from both academic and athletic standpoint. It's beautiful here. I fell in love with the scenery, but most importantly it keeps me grounded. It's not too fast pace and it keeps me level headed on the stuff that I need to focus on.

Last question. I know we are in a pandemic due to COVID-19, and we can't do anything but what's the most fun thing to here do in Morgantown, West Virginia?

I get to sleep (laughs). I look forward to sleeping. You have to take care of your body. You have to.

Sleeping (laughs)? Well it's been a pleasure watching you perform today. You are one of the best guards that I've ever seen in my life and I've seen a lot of guards. Do your thing and we will continue checking you out through the season.

Thank you so much. I appreciate it. Stay safe.

Postgame celebration with WVU teammates.

basketball
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.