Unbalanced logo

Winners Only: All-Horizon League Awards

by Winners Only 4 months ago in basketball

Macee Williams, Nneka Obiazor, Megan Walstad earn individual honors for 2020-21 regular season

Macee, Nneka & Megan

First Team

Macee Williams - IUPUI - Senior - Forward/Center

Macee Williams averaged 17.9 points per game and 9.3 rebounds, both career highs. The 6-2 post player led the conference in field goal percentage with a clip of 52.4. Williams was also the top rebounder in the conference as she led her team to a regular season conference championship.

Caitlyn Hibner - Green Bay - Senior - Guard

Caitlyn Hibner was third in the Horizon League with a shooting percentage of 51.3. She led her team in scoring at 15 points per game and rebounding with seven boards per contest. Hibner and Green Bay finished second in the Horizon League during the regular season.

Megan Walstad - Milwaukee - Junior - Forward

At 6-2, Megan Walstad was a defensive stopper for Milwaukee. She blocked a Horizon League best 1.8 shots per game. She was also second in the conference in rebounding at 8.8 boards per game.

Nneka Obiazor - Youngstown State - Freshman - Forward

Freshman forward Nneka Obiazor was fifth in the conference averaging 8.3 rebounds per game. She was also seventh in the Horizon League in scoring at 15.2 points per contest.

Rachel McLimor - IUPUI - Senior - Guard/Forward

While Macee Williams did the damage inside, Rachel McLimor was draining shots from the outside as IUPUI won the Horizon League regular season crown. She averaged 13.8 points while shooting 39.5 percent from three and 46.3 percent from the field overall.

Player of the Year - Macee Williams, IUPUI

Second Team

Mariah White - Cleveland State - Senior - Guard

Mariah White led all Horizon League players in scoring at 19.4 points per game. She was also second in steals with an average of 2.1 per game.

Angel Baker - Wright State - Junior - Guard

Angel Baker's average of 16.9 points is fifth in the Horizon League. She led Wright State to a third place finish with an average of 5.1 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game.

Lindsey Duvall - Northern Kentucky - Senior - Guard

After having a very limited role at Louisville, Lindsey Duval transferred to Northern Kentucky and became a star. She averaged a career best 16.1 points per game after never averaging more than 3.5 points in her two seasons in Louisville.

Mary Dunn - Youngstown State - Senior - Forward

Mary Dunn used her 6-3 frame to power her way to the second best field goal percentage in the Horizon League. She shot 52.1 percent to go along with a scoring average of 15.6, which was seventh in the conference.

Brandi Bisping - Milwaukee - Senior - Guard

Brandi Bisping was the best rebounding guard in the Horizon League pulling down 8.6 boards per contest. She also averaged 11.5 points, while leading the conference in free-throw shooting at 92.9 percent.


Mariah White - Cleveland State - Senior - Guard

Megan Walstad - Milwaukee - Junior - Forward

Caitlyn Hibner - Green Bay - Senior - Guard

Macee Williams - IUPUI - Senior - Forward/Center

Destiny Perkins - IUPUI - Senior - Guard

Perkins was tied for second in the conference with an average of 2.1 steals per game for the Horizon League regular season champs. She recorded at least one steal in each game this season.

Defensive Player of the Year - Megan Walstad, Milwaukee

Freshman of the Year - Nneka Obiazor, Youngstown State

Coach of the Year - John Barnes - Youngstown State

Last season was a rough one for Youngstown State as it finished 13-17. This year the Penguins improved to 9-7 and had the opportunity to be a lot better had it not been for a few fourth quarter meltdowns. Coach Barnes has his team on the upward trend and we wouldn't be surprised to see the battle tested YSU make a run to the Horizon League finals this year. With a nice amount of talent returning next season we're predicting that this is an 18-to-20 win team in the 2021-22 season and Coach Barnes is the right guy to get this group to the top.

Winners  Only
Winners Only
Read next: Why AEW's Chris Jericho Truly Deserves a Thank You
Winners Only
See all posts by Winners Only

Find us on socal media

Miscellaneous links