Unbalanced logo

Who is Ian Lavalaye?

Basketball: Who Proved the Doubters Wrong

By DunkyardPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Dunkyard

Every basketball player has his/her doubters. Whether it is a coach, a fan or a competitor, someone tells them that their dream is too big or impossible and that "It will never happen". But these words don't make athletes give up but it makes them work harder, all because of one reason...

Those haters are fuel to the fire

Don't believe us? Here's how one of Australia's brightest basketball star Ian Lavalyee conquered his abilities!

Ian always used to watch the NBA on TV when he was younger, and asked myself "why not me?"

Deep inside, I knew that basketball was my purpose, and my happiness

He started playing at the lowest levels of basketball, being overseen and not even making teams at some point. Coaches didn't even want to pick him up for their teams.

They didn't believe in what I could do, nor didn't know that in my mindset, I will keep fighting until I get what I want.

(Credit: Ian Yong)

Ian had a lot to prove, and nothing to lose at that time, so he kept practicing day by day until he started to notice improvements. People started to notice him and he noticed that. As he developed as an athlete, people hated on him and looked forward to his downfall. Day by day he kept on proving them wrong and he will continue to keep proving them wrong everyday until he achieves his dreams. Throughout time being, he had only a hand full of coaches and people who understood his mentality, but that was enough... because they had faith in him.

I will always thank these coaches and people who believed in me, when I was nothing, and will keep them by my side when I make something of myself.

Role model

Through out his basketball journey Ian has relied on his family and friends to get to where he is today. Their support has motivated Ian to accomplish great things and will continue to press on.

I look up to my parents, who have sacrificed so much for me, to get me where I am today. My parents have been through a lot, and I could not thank them more for all the time, money and love they have invested in me. Also, I look up to everyone who had faith in me when I was nothing, and kept pushing me everyday, past my limits to get to where I am today. My dreams, my family and the people that support me are the reasons I wake up everyday, giving it my all, and trying to be successful in life by any means necessary.

(Credit: Ian Yong)

Accomplishments

Ian has made several accomplishments through out his basketball career. Here are some of his latest achievements:

  • West Coast Elite World Championship Gold Medal
  • Aussie Prospects Dunk Contest
  • State Champs 2019 Silver Medal
  • 10+ College offers
  • 2017 WABL Silver Medal
  • NAS School Basketball Gold Medal
  • Bigfoot Hoops Silver Medal
  • 2019 UBL Assists Leader
  • 2019 UBL Rebounds Leader
  • 2018 WABL Most Improved Player
(Credit: Ian Yong)

Resolve

Ian is currently working on pursuing a college career, with many offers and interests to choose from.

It would be a blessing to take my game to the next level considering the percentage of people that manage to achieve this. After a college career, the goal is obviously the NBA, but It would be a blessing for me to pursue a professional career overseas, in Europe, Asia, Australia, or North/South America.

He has found passion and love for the game of basketball, and he strives to beat the odds until he get to where he want to be, and keep striving upwards to be the best player he can possibly be.

(Credit: Ian Yong)

Grind now, The success will come later. There isn't one player that doesn't have haters. People hating should push you to keep proving them wrong. You have to earn your stripes the harder way which will make you stronger than anyone else. Keep in mind. If one coach doesn't want you, another will. Have faith in yourself. Remember not to compare your chapter 1 to somebody's chapter 10

And finally

Keep in mind that obstacles build a journey to greatness. It's never smooth.

~ Ian Lavalaye

The purpose of this article is to inspire today's and tomorrows generation of aspiring athletes, Good luck! ~ Dunkyard

More on Ian

  • Place Of Birth: Doula, Cameroon
  • Height: 6'6 (198 cm)
  • Wingspan: 6'11 (212 cm)
  • Birth: 14/05/2002
  • Position SG/SF
  • Instagram: @ian.lavalayee

basketball
1

About the Creator

Dunkyard

Featuring today’s generation of talented athletes

Follow @dunkyard on instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.