Unbalanced logo

When Kobe died, everything changed

It feels like the universe is still mad at us like we let him down.

By J LouisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
An Art piece of Kobe waiving at the crowd after his last game

Still so tragic. It has been a whole year and a couple months now since the passing of the Lakers Legend, Hall of famer, basketball player Kobe Bean Bryant.

Kobe was one of the two reasons I got into watching the game of basketball, the other reason is because of his friend LeBron James. Growing up in Port au Prince, Haiti, all I knew was playing soccer which we called Futbol.

One day, my cousin who has been living here in the United States of America since birth showed me some video highlights of Kobe and LeBron because he wanted me to compare the two. At the time, Kobe had more experience because he was older. So I told Smith, my cousin, I believed right now it's Kobe, he impresses me more, but LeBron will probably surpass him one day because of his size and court vision, but I enjoy watching both. Since then I fell in love with that sport just like I love soccer.

Year after year, I've become so addicted just by watching more after games highlights, I had no way to watch the live games. Smith would always send me links so I could stay connected with what was happening.

I have watched Kobe through the good and bad, even when he got in some legal troubles where he was found not guilty. I used to compare Kobe skills to my favorite all time soccer player named Ronaldinho who is Brazilian. They were both fearless, ready to rip the opponents hearts apart on the field by going at them every time, trying to score. For them , the game is only over when there is no more times left on the clock.

Kobe did not smile much while playing because he stayed focus, he was not friendly with the opponents at all, he had his game face on at all time. Either if it was just the regular season games or the NBA playoff, the Lakers legend gave it all he had, he refused to lose. He was not a loser even after defeat. He still had that winning mentality which they called the "MAMBA MENTALLITY".

Kobe got the name Black Mamba, because of his Mamba (the snake) mindset, he was vicious, and stayed on attack mode, plus the ways he was moving. The Black Mamba played with and against some of the GOAT ( greatest of all time ) that included guys like Shaquille O'Neal, his long time teammate and friend who used to fight him like real brothers do, but it was always love between the two.

Kobe Bryant and his wife Vanessa

Kobe's wife Vanessa Bryant, who gave him 4 beautiful daughters was always there, maybe not always in the gym, but she was always in the picture. She took care of home when Kobe was spending most of his times around teammates and coaches just like other players. Vanessa Played a huge role in his success, she was his backbone, the woman who glued all the pieces together. Yes they had their issues, but hey which great couple never have problems in their relationship ? What's important is they knew they were made for each other, so they searched and found the solutions.

I've watched Kobe for about 14 years, even though he played 20 seasons. One of my many regrets is I didn't know about him, not until after his 5th years in the league. Kobe inspired many, from those who play a similar sport, to something else. Even people who never involve in any sport activities can some how relate. The way he approached the game makes us want to go hard at what we do. Kobe used to go so hard, he even continued to play a game with a broken finger because he wanted to win so bad.

Kobe's animated film cover art for Dear basketball

He was a winner, not only when he played the game, Kobe also won off the court. He won an Oscar in 2017 for "DEAR BASKETBALL", an animated film that was written and narrated by him. He also done a lot for his community which included his youth basketball academy where his late daughter Gigi played.

Gigi smiles with his father Kobe

Gigi was a star, the future of women basketball. The world and all basketball lovers could tell. She was just like her dad, fearless, same game face, same mentality, she was his twin. They called her Mambacita, which means Little Mamba. She inspired many other girls like her and gave them hope, showed them girls belong there in that sport, they can all do it. She was coming up with her other star friends and teammates.

In January 26, 2020 the world took a loss, my life took a loss, I've seen the universe turned its back on us. It felt like everything was coming to an end when that chopper crashed. Many hearts were broken, still are broken. Basketball has not been the same since then and life has changed for so many.

Kobe and 8 others including his daughter Gigi were on their way to another practice, but had no idea it was going to be their last one. Sadly, their time had come, I still wish they could've cheated death. It was hard for me to believe it had to be that way. I was on so much disbelief that it felt like watching the movie FINAL DESTINATION when I watched his helicopter turning uncontrollably, heading down into the ground. I said to myself this has to be a dream, but It was real life.

we no longer have Kobe but we do have all those great memories that he gave all of us fans and other who knew of him. I feel so blessed to get to love a sport because of him, to get to know what's give it all you got feels like because of him, to get to feel like I need to work harder no matter how good I think I am at something because of him, and to have that Mamba mentality, all because of him.

Kobe never felt like he was doing enough even though I feel like he over achieved all the things he wanted to do. He wanted to be like Mike on the court, and I wanted to be like him, mentally.

The inspiration is so strong that is why as a Songwriter 1st, I wrote him this song after the Lakers won last year championship that was dedicated to him. Check it out below.

SONG: KOBE THIS IS FOR YOU

INTRO

Kobe, ever since you left this world man, the universe tries to leave us. It's like we let you down, but we didn't let you down when the championship came. We won this for you, you're a legend and THIS IS WHY :

CHORUS

It's the blood for me

It's the sweat for me

It's the tears and those battles through those years for me.

It's the guts for me

You were clutch to me

This one is for you,

Thank you Kobe Bean

It's the blood for me

It's the sweat for me

It's the tears and those battles through those years for me.

It's the guts for me

You were clutch to me

This one is for you,

Thank you Kobe Bean

VERSE 1

Kobe/ we won again, the team was doing this for you the whole season.

They beat blazers, rockets and nuggets, not in 7.

It only took 5 games in the west to beat each of them.

They beat Miami heat in 6 games, they were tough.

Kobe you were so strong mentally even in a loss

You taught us to believe, we can do it, dnt give up.

I'm doing music but it's the same thing you did in sports .

Last game we dominated, not even Tyler Herro could save Pat Riley

Respect to his team, they fought hard, I like Jimmy.

You and Shaquille O'Neal remind me of LeBron and AD.

King James gave it all out there, he won MVP.

Thank you legend, now you are in a better place

Say hi to all the other Greats

Gigi you put a smile on our face

This one is for you, I hope you love the championship. 

CHORUS

It's the blood for me

It's the sweat for me

It's the tears and those battles through them years for me.

It's the guts for me

You was clutch to me

This one is for you,

Thank you Kobe bean

It's the blood for me

It's the sweat for me

It's the tears and those battles through those years for me.

It's the guts for me

You were clutch to me

This one is for you,

Thank you Kobe Bean

VERSE 2

I know you like when AD said that he's like that

Clutch shot, game winner, yeah he Miked that

You were the same way too, and LeBron made a few of those shots

The heat never gave up, Jimmy tried to fight back

You've taught us all to fight till the end man

You were like a coach, I always follow your game plan .

When I'm making songs I have your mentality

Your name lives on, we love you eternally

Last game we dominated, not even Tyler Herro could save Pat Riley

Respect to his team, they fought hard, I like Jimmy.

You and Shaquille O'Neal remind me of LeBron and AD.

King James gave it all out there, he won MVP

Thank you legend, now you are in a better place

Say hi to all the other Greats

Gigi you put a smile on our face

This one is for you, hope you love the championship. 

CHORUS

It's the blood for me

It's the sweat for me

It's the tears and those battles through them years for me.

It's the guts for me

You was clutch to me

This one is for you,

Thank you Kobe bean

It's the blood for me

It's the sweat for me

It's the tears and those battles through those years for me.

It's the guts for me

You were clutch to me

This one is for you,

Thank you Kobe Bean

basketball
1

About the Creator

J Louis

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.