Unbalanced logo

UFC Atomweights?

The newest UFC weight-class?

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
UFC Atomweights?
Photo by Samuel Ramos on Unsplash

Earlier on this year I published an article discussing the Women's Featherweight Division in the UFC. Unfortunately this division, without question is the weakest division in the whole UFC. They don't even have an official top 10 ranking. Amanda Nunes is the Women's 145lb champ and that's it. As it stands even with the prospect of Kayla Harrison making her way to the UFC for a "super-fight" with Amanda Nunes. That's really all we have to look forward to regarding that division. Unless of course out of nowhere Dana fines an absolute monster of a woman with a following that rivals Conor McGregor. Which let's be real, what are the odds of that happening? I still have faith the division can grow given enough time and love, but while we wait on that. If we can't go heavier, let's see what would happen if we went lighter for the 5th UFC women's weight class.

For those who need it, here is a quick refresher of the current 4 UFC Women's Divisions; Strawweight, Flyweight, Bantamweight, and Featherweight. Respectively those weights are; 115lbs, 125lbs, 135lbs, and 145lbs. If we were to go lighter that would mean having an "Atomweight" division at 105lbs. As it stands there are only two major professional MMA promotions with an Atomweight divisions (115lbs). Those companies are: Invicta FC and One FC/One Championship (however you want to call it). That's it, unfortunately.

I actually watch my fair share of Atomweight fights/fighters and they are very exciting. Angela Lee is a huge star over in One, but let's be real the UFC isn't poaching any fighters from One. I don't know what it is, maybe the sense of pride? So One will just be an example of what is capable, but the UFC will have to look elsewhere for Atomweight fighters. Majority of female UFC fighters are Invicta alumni anyways, so obviously it wouldn't be a big reach for the UFC to poach from Invicta's Atomweight Division. Poor Shannon, sorry. I'll make sure to repay you by trying to promote Invicta so you can retain more fighters. But Uncle Bobby Dana is going to need a few of those Atomweights, Shannon. If you understood that reference you are most certainly in the right place.

So do I have a list of girls I'd sign to kick off the UFC Atomweight division? As a matter of fact I do, most of these are up-and-comers because as stated above Dana is not dragging Angela Lee from One. I'm just going to rapid fire off a bunch of names. Jillian DeCoursey, Jessica Delboni, Ana Palacios, Saori Oshima, and Rena Kubota just to name a few. Lets sign them Uncle Bobby Dana.

Before I forget something that truly irritated me about Julianna Pena. I understand trash talking your opponent and I understand she was just stating facts. But why she felt the need to repeatedly bury the Featherweight division, I don't understand. It genuinely pissed me off Julianna used her 15 minutes to be toxic and negative instead of trying to use her time to build the 145lb division. I would have loved to see if somehow Juliana successfully defended her belt at 135lbs, to really put the metaphorical nail in Nunes's coffin by making their third match at 145lbs and taking that belt too. But no, when asked if she wanted to be "champ champ", she arrogantly said "I'm already champ champ" and look where she is now. No longer champ, with a grand total of 0 successful title defenses. I'm sorry I had to go on that Juliana rant for a second. Hopefully the Atomweights get substantially more love if ever they're brought into the UFC.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

fighting
2

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.