Unbalanced logo

TUF 30: Pena/Nunes

season debut 5/3/2022

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
https://www.ufc.com/news/ufc-champions-julianna-pena-and-amanda-nunes-to-coach-ultimate-fighter-season-30

I legitimately thought I was done talking about the UFC for a while but this is huge news. It's official, TUF season 30 will be coached by current Women's Bantamweight Champion Vanessa Pena and former Women's Bantamweight Champion/current Women's Featherweight Champion Amanda Nunes. After the season is done, the two coaches will square off in their immediate rematch for the 135lb belt.

We all had our suspicions that next season of TUF would be "Colby V Masvidal", but with neither man having a belt on the line. This was the best course of action for now. Let's save that rivalry for season 32. First off I want to pay my respects to both women.

Vanessa Pena

Pena is doing an amazing job embracing being a champion. She's just completely honest with how crazy this experience is for her. She has yet to develop an ego or put herself on a pedestal just because she's the champ. I also absolutely love how much media she's willing to do. Any time any where the UFC needs her, she'll be there. Mad respect to Vanessa, I can tell she's absolutely grateful and wants to just appreciate every second at the top of the mountain without an ounce of arrogance or cockiness.

Amanda Nunes

As for Amanda she's been incredibly humble in defeat both immediately after the fight and in the time that's passed. I always have respect for fighters who are willing to accept an immediate rematch, especially the "loser". Something I've hated about boxing and even MMA at times, sure we've seen plenty of trilogies. Hell there's talks about running back Moreno/Figueiredo for a 4th time to finally decide the true winner since it's currently 1-1-1.

Anyways that example aside, for a multitude of reasons sometimes it takes years to see rematches. Some times the luster can be long gone by the time the rematch comes. Some times the loser of the fight may want to take a hiatus or have a tune up fight, which I'm not saying is a bad thing. But so many things could go wrong and we could never get the rematch we want to see. We all know how many super-fights we missed out on throughout the years. I'm always up for immediate rematches.

TUF 30 contestants

PLEASE GIVE US ANOTHER SEASON OF WOMEN'S FEATHER WEIGHTS. Also since nowadays we usually have two weight classes competing at once, can we please make the other weight class either Women's or Men's Flyweight? All the other divisions minus say Heavyweight and Middleweight are fine for now. It's Women's Featherweight that is clearly desperate for any quality fighters. And of course both Flyweight divisions are always struggling for deep talent. We can save the other divisions for TUF 31 Covington v Masvidal.

The Women's Featherweight division needs it, I don't care if we just had them last season with the "Heavy Hitters" season. Do I have any Featherweight names I'd love to see? Absolutely not, but that's your job Dana!

Finale

Granted Vanessa has already been asked about this and literally responded with "No, I'm good". It would be great to see the TUF 30 finale take place in Brazil for their rematch. I really hope Vanessa reconsiders, this is too good of a storyline to pass up. And as we know Brazilian crowds especially when it comes to MMA, always show up and show out. Is Pena afraid of the heat from the Brazilian crowd?

Aftermath?

I'm going to skip TUF 31, but I still want Colby v Jorge. I may even write an article about them, but I mean I do hate talking about Colby so probably not. Anyways, this leads me to TUF 32. Whoever wins Pena v Nunes, I want see Valentina step up and get one last crack at the 135lb belt and get that double champ status. I've already written an article about Valentina's double champ status in a previous article. I say regardless of who wins because Valentina has already fought both before, granted she's only beaten Pena and unfortunately lost to Nunes twice already. But regardless, whoever wins and fights Valentina next there's more than enough history and stakes to make it worth season 32 of TUF. Come on Uncle Dana, make it happen.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

fighting
Like

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.