Unbalanced logo

Track & Field 2k21: The Relay Squads

by Winners Only 11 months ago in culture
Report Story

A look at some of the best NCAA relay teams

Oregon's 400 Meters Relay Team

We realize that we don't show enough love to the relay squads. We're not all the way sure why but in this feature we plan on righting our wrong. We will take time to honor some of the most exciting relay squads of the NCAA during the 2k21 season!

Oregon's 400 Meters Relay

Jadyn Mays, Kemba Nelson, Jasmin Reed and Danyel White ran a time of 42.87, which won the 400 meters relay championship of the PAC-12. The foursome held off a talented unit from USC which recorded the second fastest time in all of the NCAA 12 days before. Oregon's 400 meters relay squad ran the fourth fastest time during their conference championship in the regular season. At the NCAA championships they had the second fastest time during the prelim round at 42.94, but they were disqualified in the finals and unable to medal.

North Carolina A&T's 400 Meters Relay

Cambrea Sturgis, Kamaya Debose-Epps, Symone Darius and Jonah Ross proved that they are just as legit as any major program, placing third at the NCAA Championships in the 400-meter relay. The ladies led North Carolina A&T to a time of 43.03. Prior to the NCAA meet, the Aggies finished first in four of five heats during the season. Half of this unit, Sturgis and Debose-Epps, finished on the sixth place squad as members of NCAT's 400-meter relay team in the NCAA Championships in 2019.

This year's team won the MEAC championship with a time of 43.75.

San Diego State's 400 Meters Relay

Tai McDonald, Danae Dyer, Aisha Watt and Jada Moore won the Mountain West 400-meter relay championship at 44.15. They topped a very talented team that represented UNLV in there conference title win. At the NCAA West Preliminary Round meet, they ran a time of 44.48, which was 11th and allowed them advance to the NCAA Championship meet. During the season Alexus Alexander ran with the San Diego State relay squad as well.

Texas A&M's 1,600 Meters Relay

Tierra Robinson-Jones, Charokee Young, Jaevin Reed and Athing MU never lost a single race both during indoor and outdoor season. They ran their best time at the SEC Outdoor Track & Field Championships clocking in at 3:26.17 which was also the top time in all of the NCAA this year. Three-fourths of this unit won the indoor NCAA championship. Jania Martin was a part of the group, minus Jaevin Reed. Another runner that joined the foursome during the season was Syaira Richardson.

Texas' 1,600 Meters Relay

Serenity Douglas, Kennedy Simon, Davicia Patterson and Stacey Ann Williams were winners at this year's Big 12 Championships. They took gold in the 1,600-meter relay with a time of 3:29.82, ahead of a couple of tough squads in Baylor and Texas Tech. Three-fourths of this group ran in the finals of the NCAA championships. Rhasidate Adeleke filled in for Patterson at the NCAA meet helping the team to a fifth place finish. During the indoor season Adeleke, Patterson, Williams and Simon were Big 12 runner-up finishers behind Baylor. They finished exactly one second behind the winners, at 3:32.90.

UCLA's 1,600 Meters Relay

Meleni Rodney, Catherine Leger, Shae Anderson, Makenzy Pierre-Webster recorded the 12th fastest finish during the regular season of the NCAA with a time of 3:30.16. At the NCAA championships, UCLA ran with Rodney, Pierre-Webster, Anderson and added Kate Jendrezak to place third at 3:25.01 behind Texas A&M and USC. Rodney, Leger, Pierre-Webster and Anderson all placed second in the 1,600-meter relay at the PAC-12 championship meet.

This feature is brought to you by Track Stars App. Download the women's track and field video app free on iPhone:

Track Stars is also available on Android:


About the author

Winners Only

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2022 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.