Unbalanced logo

Tim's Story

From the Streets to the Ring

By Tim the dogg sobersPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
A doggs life

Man have I had a crazy life! I lost my rock, my best friend, and the love of my life who is my mother and that's when things for me didn't go how I wanted it to go. I was young and very dumb! When my mother passed away, I had to go live with my older brother who became my parent and had the responsibility of bringing me up. That didn't go well because my brother was also young and dumb so a majority of the time I would be alone. Wake up in the morning, alone, go to sleep at night, alone. And this is at the tender age of 10 years old. Things had to change. Now my mum and dad split up when I was a baby so my dad had moved on and created a new family of his own. I had to go live with him and his new family. The moment I moved in I knew I wasn't welcome. My bed was in the kitchen. My dad, bless him, knew I didn't like it there, but I had no choice. It is what it is.

An 8 few years down the line after surviving with my dad's family, I got introduced to the streets and money. The streets is not a joke. Drugs, money, and girls were my new hobbies. Whilst in the streets at the age of 18, I managed to get myself a flat. Nice little number that I turned into my palace. I was all good. I had money saved (street money). I had girls. Then whilst signing on one day I met my first real girlfriend. She was now the queen of my palace. She also loved that I was in the street life. Because she as well as me always had money in our pockets. I must say everything was running smooth. Out of the blue, my flat gets busted. This is how dumb I actually was. I used to keep my drugs and my stash of cash in my flat. In one day I lost it all. This is when I got introduced to her majesty's pleasure. Four and a half years the judge gave me. My life was over. After this sentence was complete, I decided that the jail life was not for me so I signed up to my local gym this is when I got introduced to the world of boxing.

Boxing changed my whole life for the better. I became addicted to the sport. It made me into a man. I have now had 21 fights. It took me 18 fights before I became a champion. I met a new girl. A good girl with a huge heart who actually took me away from the streets and supported me in my boxing career. We now have three beautiful children and we are getting married very soon. I have now been boxing for ten years. I have been out of trouble for ten years. I have been with my wife to be for sixteen years. Life couldn't be better for me right now. I am not getting any younger. Age catches up with us all so we must take advantage before it is to late. I feel that I am in a good place right now and I plan to stay like this. Nowadays money does not bother me. Girls do not bother me. I want to earn respect and work for my money. And there is not anywhere you will work harder than in a squared circle. A boxing ring against someone who also has a dream. This is where I must be focused and remember how hard I have worked to get where I am today. I must retire a champion. That is my goal. Not only a champion but a people's champion. When I achieve this goal, I know my work here is complete. And that is when I will continue to chase my dreams and make not only my family and children proud of me, but everyone. I must become a legend. Stepping into that ring you must learn to fear nothing at all. I am now fearless. I know my mother god bless her is looking down at me and very proud because I turned my life around.

Believe in yourself, make sure you have a good family around you and trust me all will be good! 😊

Hope you like my true story how you can change your life if you want to.

I now am determined to be the best I can be!

My Sponsor, Abenzi. My First Ever Sponsor

fighting
Like

About the Creator

Tim the dogg sobers

I am a boxer. Love staying in shape... I am also a family man and i love my family more than anything. We have had our ups and downs but we stuck together and got through it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.