Unbalanced logo

THE VEGAS GOLDEN KNIGHTS ARE YOUR 2023 STANLEY CUP CHAMPIONS!

Knights win, Knights win, Knights win!!!

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
I do not own the image above, no copy right intended

This feels AMAZING. You couldn't pry the smile off my face with a crowbar. Bill Foley, you GENIUS. Without question there will certainly be a statue erected in Las Vegas for this man. A friendly reminder to all my readers I was born and raised in Vegas. Vegas is my home and I never plan on leaving. Another well known fact about me, I LOVE HOCKEY. Without question it is my favorite sport. No sport comes close to hockey in my eyes. The talent, dedication, toughness, heart, and sheer will it takes to play hockey is unrivaled in my opinion.

It's absolutely bonkers to think this historic run has been on the back of a 4th string goalie, with Hall of Famer Jonathan Quick on the bench. This team has overcome so much adversity and so many injuries. Granted we had INCREDIBLE depth, but depth only goes so far without chemistry and great leadership. We only have 6 original misfits, but clearly that chemistry and comradery from the original misfits is still alive and thriving. I can't believe in such a short amount of time Las "not a sports town" Vegas now has 2 professional championships. Started with the Las Vegas Aces in the WNBA just last year. Now the VGK have earned their opportunity to raise lord Stanley's cup. So please, while we all celebrate do not forget about the gals.

There are so many players I want to recognize, but I'd be here all day if I did. Obviously we have to recognize the Conn Smythe winner Marchy. One of 6 original misfits, is literally in the record books with WAYNE GRETZKY as the newest undrafted player to win the Conn Smythe. Captain Mark Stone, has been an incredible leader and to think just before the playoffs he got injured. Jack Eichel, my goodness what a showing in your very first playoff run. While being clowned for so many years for routinely missing the playoffs. And of course Adin Hill stepping up to the challenge and putting the team on his back.

If there were two changes we could have made to our post season run, I would have loved to play the Kraken in round 3. One thing I absolutely would NEVER change, is the "greatest PP in history" just vanishing against us in the playoffs. I have to tip my hats off to the sharks, not only did they score 4 goals in 5 minutes to tie the game, they eventually won the series, they overcame a 3-1 lead, and they did it against future Hall of Fame goalie Marc Andre Fleury. Meanwhile the best Edmonton could do with their 5 minutes was 1 goal against a fourth string goalie. Absolutely hilarious, I will never forget that until the end of time. And speaking of goalies, I would have loved if Marc Andre Fleury was still here and could have gotten one last ring but as a Knight. No disrespect to Hill, I cannot emphasize that enough.

Obviously now that we've won, the goal is always to repeat. Thankfully almost all of our players are signed for at least next season. I am very intrigued to see how management handles the goalie situation. It's a good problem to have, having too much goalie depth. Unfortnately Thompson and Lehner are the only two goalies we have resigned for next season and Adin his has to get paid after his amazing performance.

Thank you so much VGK, enjoy the off-season. Let's come back just as, if not even more hungry to repeat! I cannot wait for this parade, it's going to be bonkers! Go Knights Go!

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

hockey
1

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.