Unbalanced logo

The 49ers Unforgettable Journey to Super Bowl Through My Eye

Some content has been AI-Generated

By Brandon ShimadaPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3

My beloved San Francisco 49ers punched their tickets to the Super Bowl 57 in Las Vegas, Nevada. In exactly 13 more days the 49ers will be looking for revenge on the Kansas City Chiefs from a Super Bowl 54 loss where we gave up a 20-10 4th quarter lead and a final score of 31-20. Let me share my thoughts and feelings from the last 24 hours.

Yesterday my day started with excitement in anticipation to the time leading up to the game. It then went to happiness seeing the teams run on the field and Deebo being on the field. Disappointment was next as the Detroit Lions walked straight down the field in 1 minute and 42 seconds and scored an easy touchdown. After the 49ers couldn’t move the ball and the Lions came back down again and scored another td and the score was 14-0 still in the first quarter. By halftime I was so angry and annoyed at the way the 49ers looked. The 3rd quarter stared, and we were moving the ball, but the drive stalled out and settled for a field goal.

Nervousness creeped back in as Detroit drove the ball down once again, but this time Dan Campbell went for it on 4th and 2 yards to gain and was stuffed. Joyfulness and hope came back into my mind. The turning point was when Brock Purdy threw it deep ball and the Lions DB Kindle Vildor should have intercepted but instead tipped up and Brandon Aiyuk made a diving catch. 2 plays later I was jumping up out of my seat as Brock Purdy would find Aiyuk again for a 6-yard td and the score would be 24-17 Lions. I was yelling at my son “we’re back in this thing Bubba” my nickname for him.

When we start to settle down and start to eat my pizza again Jahmyr Gibbs Lions rookie running back was stripped of the ball. I didn’t see the ball come loose but if you watch enough football, you know when there’s a fumble and everyone starts diving on a pile. I stood up again and said Fred Warner pointing 49er football. I yelled “OUR BALL, OUR BALL!” When the referee pointed our way, I screamed “LET’S GOOOOO!” and ran around like a I was an actual player. 4 plays later Christian McCaffrey scored a td on 1 yard run up the middle to tie the score 24-24. The adrenaline I had running through my body was crazy. I was able to sit back down, and the Lions would punt on their next offensive possession.

As the game unfolded, the 49ers would take the lead on a field goal by Jake Moody. Nerves came back in my mind as Detroit would start to find some offense. Down by 3 points with 8 minutes left in the game on San Francisco’s 30-yard line Dan Campbell decided not to kick a 46-yard field goal to tie the game, but to go for it. 4th and 3 yards to gain Bay Area native Lion’s quarterback Jared Goff drops back and gets pressured on to his right and throws an incomplete pass. Relief sets in and all I was thinking is if we can score a touchdown this game is over. 7 plays and 70 yards later my prayers would get answered as the 49ers would score a td on an Elijah Mitchell 3-yard run making the score 34-24. I’m getting goosebumps writing this now.

Detroit scored a td late and the onside kick was unsuccessful and such a warm happy feeling came over me as Brock Purdy was in victory formation. Purdy got the snap and took a knee. Immediately ran toward the 49ers sideline and screamed. Kyle Shanahan was the first to him and gave him a big hug. I grabbed my son and daughter and hugged them yelling “We’re going to the Super Bowl!” They yelling it back have no idea what the super bowl is, but they are excited because Dada was excited.

football
3

About the Creator

Brandon Shimada

Former collegiate baseball player turned engineering technician at a electric vehicle company. I have a passion for sports. I love spending time with my family, dabbling in the stock market and learning how to start my own small business

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Steven3 months ago

    So excited for the niners going back to the superbowl. Can’t believe how much tickets are.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.