Unbalanced logo

Super bowl LVI

A brief discussion and my predictions

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
https://theramswire.usatoday.com/lists/super-bowl-betting-trends-odds-history-rams-bengals/

It's official the Cincinnati Bengals and LA Rams are going to the Super Bowl this weekend, Sunday kick off at 3:30pm PST. It has been a crazy year to say the least. The 2020-2021 NFL season was played in it's entirety, but the stands were completely empty. We finally were allowed to have stands full of fans back in attendance for the first time since the pandemic started. This season was also extended from 16 to 17 regular season games, this was done by converting one of the four preseason games into a regular season game. Covid of course was a problem all throughout the season across all 32 teams. The Football world lost John Madden, RIP. Then last but not least, the craziest news dropped only a few days ago. Tom Brady has officially retired after 22 long seasons in the NFL, honorable mention to Ben Roethlisberger's farewell tour this season. So now onto the big game.

Bengals

Let's start with the visiting team. The Bengals absolutely have the storyline going for them. After breaking their 32 year playoff drought, the Bengals have proven this year they're R0cky Balboa. No matter how hard you hit them, they'll just keep fighting. Heart oozes from this team top to bottom. Their passing game is spectacular and their defensive line absolutely loves to abuse any opposing quarterback they face, their run game is fairly lackluster unfortunately. But also big ups to their kicker McPherson. He was the hero to many regular season games this year.

The Bengals made it to the super bowl twice before but couldn't capture gold. Could this year be the year they capture their first ever Super bowl championship?

LA Rams

Now let's talk about the home team and the betting favorites this Sunday. With an all time record of 1-3, with their first and only victory coming in 2000. Can the Rams get the job done in their brand new Sofi Stadium? I know they'd absolutely love to win on home field in front of their own fans just like Tampa Bay did last year.

Will the Rams defense rise to the occasion? Can the Rams biggest names in Odell Beckham Jr, Von Miller, and of course Matthew Stafford use their vet experience to win? Unfortunately for the Bengals, just about every statistic on both sides of the field the Rams have the Bengals beat. If the Rams just play their game, keep a level head and take control of the game they'll prove why they're the favorites this Sunday.

Who am I picking?

I don't have a dog in this fight, so I really don't care who wins. I don't like/dislike either team to actively cheer for one or the other. My bet on the Bengals is purely because I like betting on underdogs when I don't know who to bet on. And even though Cincinnati knocked out my Raiders in the first round, I would love to see them finish their Cinderella story. I'm a sucker for underdog stories. So my pick is for the Bengals to win this Sunday and capture their first ever Super Bowl. If the Eagles could beat Tom Brady for their first ever championship then the Bengals have a "puncher's chance" too.

By the way, I'm not even going to bother attempting any predictions regarding scores. I refuse to say which team will cover the spread. NO, just no. I refuse to embarrass myself like that. I enjoy football, but I don't watch nowhere near enough football to actually make serious predictions. That's what the professional betters/analysts are for.

All I know with certainty, is regardless of the winner is this Sunday. This Super Bowl will deliver.

Half time show

Before I forget, under normal circumstances I wouldn't even bother talking about the half time show because I don't care. But I am hype to see Eminem perform, this has nothing to do with my prediction whatsoever but I had to include it. I would've been torn apart if I didn't talk about the half time show regardless of how brief this inclusion is.

Also I needed to buff up this article a bit.. Sue me it's the first non UFC article I've written in quite a while and I just wanted to make sure I was well above the 600 word minimum limit. ANYWAYS, moving on...

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

football
Like

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.