Unbalanced logo

Sticks and Pebbles

A boys dream to play golf

By Blackmamaearth Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

A cold city will full talent, the Bronx. Bronx, New York. This was a grueling day, one of those days I wished I saved up for a rainy day in my scratched up penny jar. I turn on the T.V. hearing the weather forecast by Al Roker, telling us it’s not quiet time to put up our winter coats. Mine was about to give up the ghost anyways, it was but so much sewing mama could do before the hems unraveled again. I rubbed my toes against my metal bed framing, feeling the chills run through my body. I knew I had to get up and get ready for hockey. Hockey was the closet sport I could get to golf; mama couldn’t afford to take me up to Mosholu Golf Course. The Course Rates were too high and she says that since I’m already 13 the talent of golf is too late to kick in. The photo of Tiger Woods hangs on my yellow chipped wall on the slanted Cork Board with my Jamaican flag draping the photo. I imagine myself like Tiger, a mulatto man like me; a black man like me. Making such a change in sports history, knowing I could do the same. I got up from bed waiting for my feet to touch the rug before I made up my mind that I would fake to mama that I am sick. It is cold, I do not want to get on the subway and carry all my crap to practice. Plus, today was the day. Tiger Woods competing in the Masters 2019. Just imagine the whole house to myself while mama at work and my younger sister Nala spending the weekend with her friends. I open my wooden door, the creak escape into the floor and I see mama standing. “Hey sport you ready for practice?” She notices my red cheeks that I compressed in between my pillows earlier to fake my sickness. She picks at my eyes removing the sleep, turning her face ill, knowing I was not going to make it to practice.

My insides start to fill with joy like a thermometer I know my acting skills are going to lead me to bed rest for today. “Looks like you have to stay in today sport, you not looking to hot and I have to beat the foot traffic” she slings her work case over her shoulder and gave me a kiss on the forehead. The same plum lipstick she wears stuck on my forehead which is hard to wash off. I walk with her to the front door and lock it behind her. I jolt towards my hockey stick in my closet and my collection of pebbles, picking the roundest one. I dare not play like this in the house when mama was home but today was my lucky day. I angle the stick like Tiger would his club, my feet shoulders width apart I swing at the pebble aiming to the trash can. “Hole!” I swing the stick in the air imagining the soft grass underneath my feet with the shaded mahogany trees keeping me cool. This is going to be the best Saturday ever.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Blackmamaearth

Good blessings everyone! My name is Frances and I am a creative writer from North Carolina. My gifted was given from God to uplift the black community and share stories our stories that lack expression. Writing makes my soul feel good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.