Unbalanced logo

See you at Sirocco

Southern Calgary's best kept golf secret

By Golf BrofessionalPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

I’m taking the time to write this article for a number of reasons. The main one being that I love this course, I’m going into my fourth season at Sirocco and I couldn’t be more excited, Especially with how the last few months have been going. Even if I didn’t work at Sirocco, I’d still be speaking highly of the course and all the things they do exceptionally well.

Sirocco first opened in 2005, and is owned by two families who built the course in the pine creek valley just south of Calgary. The valley setting makes the course layout very natural; which makes each hole unique from each other and provides golfers with a new challenge on every hole. While that may sound intimidating, Sirocco accommodates players of every skill level by offering 4 tee distances per hole.

Sirocco also features excellent practice facilities that include a driving range, chipping green complete with bunker and a putting green so you’re able to dial it all in before or after your round.

The maintenance crew is run by Superintendent Dean Clarke. Dean and the rest of the maintenance crew are the backbone of the whole course, no doubt in my mind. There are instances where I swear that Dean doesn’t leave the course for days at a time because he genuinely cares about keeping the course in mint shape, and understands that proper attention to a course creates a premium experience for members and guests alike.

The staff in Pro Shop are more than qualified to help you with whatever you need. If you’re ever looking for lessons, Brian and Shannon are great people to see for a tune up on your swing. They’re great at speaking about golf in a way that's easy for players of any skill level to understand, and they genuinely care about the well being of your game. If you’re looking to host a tournament, wedding, or even a private event, Sirocco is able to host gatherings of all sizes. Talk to Mallory and she’ll be sure to make sure every detail of your function is taken care of.

Can’t forget about he food! Holy moly. I’ve never had food this good at a course before, Ibby’s Lounge and Restaurant could be a successful standalone, but it works that much better as a part of Sirocco. Chef James Delong runs an amazing crew of talented chefs who make efforts to exceed guests expectations. I eat there whenever I can. Whether its breakfast, lunch, dinner, a snack, or dessert you’ll be sure to enjoy what there is to offer. My favourites include the Breakfast sandwich, eggs Benedict, Cajun chicken ceaser salad, or even the to-go sandwiches are a hit. Also be sure to come by on Fridays for Burger Friday down at the halfway house.

Then there’s me! I work full time in golfer services, usually Monday-Friday 6am-2pm and I love that shift. I spend most of my day attending to members and guests, making sure they’re ready for their tee times by setting their gear up onto carts or trolleys. I take great pride in my job, and I’m frequently looking for new ways to create a premium experience to every single patron that steps foot on the property. Even if you’re not here to golf, I’ll be sure to check in on you to make sure that you’re being taken care of to the fullest extent. Over the next couple months, I’m going to make an effort to enhance Siroccos social media presence by creating quality content that showcases what make the course a great place to be.

So here’s how you can help Sirocco when social distancing restrictions are lifted and the course is open to the public. The obvious answer to help Sirocco out is to come by your friends and golf! Come by before or stay after your tee time to enjoy a delicious meal and be sure to enjoy some cold beverages while you’re out on the course. If you’re a business owner, or the event coordinator of your company, consider hosting a tournament for your employees or clients. we’re able to accommodate groups both small and large. Even if golf isn’t your cup of tea, be sure to stop by for an amazing view of the foothills.

Thank you for taking the time to read, I really hope to see you at the course!

culture
2

About the Creator

Golf Brofessional

I exchange my labour for golf, then turn golf into comedy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.