Unbalanced logo

Nick Kyrgios

A profile insight about Australia's professional Greek/Malaysian tennis player.

By Seni HaksPublished about a year ago 7 min read
1

Who is Nick Kyrgios?

Nicholas Hilmy Kyrgios was born on 27 April 1995 (aged 27 years, Zodiac sign Taurus) from Canberra, Australia. He has black eyes, dark brown hair, height 1.93 m, weight 85 kg, straight male and a christian. He is an Australian professional tennis player that (turned pro in 2013).

Nick is half Greek and half Malaysian. His parents are Norlaila Kyrgios and Giorgos Kyrgios. His mother is a computer engineer born to a royal family, but she moved to Australia at the age of twenty and dropped out of her title of being a princess. Nick's father is a house painter. He also has a brother named Christos Kyrgios and a sister named Halimah Kyrgios.

Career:

Nick Kyrgios is known as the "bad boy" in Tennis as Aussie's call him. Because he always puts on a show to entertain the audience and is the only tennis player in Australia who hits the ball in between his two legs!

He shows a rude, childish and irresponsible behavior like flirting with the audience, whinging to himself and the chair umpire on court.

He has paid multiple fines for inappropriate swearing, gestures, breaking tennis rackets and went to court to face a charge almost resulting in a maximum sentence of two years in jail due to allegedly assaulting his ex girlfriend.

Nick always loved playing Basketball since a child but he had to choose from his passion or Tennis so he chose Tennis for his career. But he has admitted that he dislikes the sport and has a hard time playing on court due to his battling overthinking; which is the reason why he might look angry on court.

In singles, Nick Kyrgios's career-high ATP singles ranking is world No. 13 which was achieved on 24 October 2016. His serves are right-handed, two-handed backhand.

Nick started his junior career in 2008, at the age of 13. He managed to win his first ITF title in Fiji, way back in 2010. He won his first ATP singles title in 2016. In the same year, he won ATP 500, at Japan Open, which made him very famous and improved his rankings.

Nick has won 7 ATP Tour singles titles, including the 2019 and 2022 Washington Open, and reached 11 finals, most notably a major final at the 2022 Wimbledon Championships, a Masters 1000 final at the 2017 Cincinnati Masters. And a grand slam win at the Australian Open in 2022. 

Nick's prize money in singles and doubles is $12,478,415. Net worth is 18 million and salary is 1.5 million.

Personal life:

Through the years fans have seen a change in Nick's behavior from his charities for the Nike foundation, sharing food for his neighbors during Covid 19 and emotional tears on court when Kobe Bryant passed away. Nick has proved everyone wrong that he is not so bad after all.

When Nick was a child, he was a chubby boy and people abused and bullied him a lot about his weight. He also has a history of anxiety, depression, drug, alcohol use and self harm as he shares on his Instagram account but rarely because social media is misleading information in his opinion due to his haters. But his lovers have always admired and supported him like true fans.

"No one knows what I’ve gone through. All the struggles I’ve overcome. I have self-harmed, was having dark thoughts about life. I always have my back and have all the confidence in the world. I lean on my loved ones". Nick replied on Instagram to answer a fans Q&A.

"It was very serious, to the point of self-harm and it’s not okay" Nick told Wide World of Sports. "I guess I pushed everyone that cared about me away and I wasn’t communicating, and I just shut down real life and I was trying to handle and tackle my problems head-on".

"If you look closely, on my right arm you can see my self harm. I was having suicidal thoughts and was literally struggling to get out of bed, let alone play in front of millions. I was lonely, depressed, negative, abusing alcohol, drugs, pushed away family & friends. I felt as if I couldn’t talk or trust anyone". Nick explained during an interview with Nine news.

"I was abusing alcohol a lot, drugs and that spiraled out of control. Now, I barely drink, I literally have a glass of wine at dinner. That was the initial kind of thing I had to clean up a little bit and then build my relationship back with my family and get into healthier habits like the basics; like diet, getting good sleep, trying to train a little bit more and that was it. I think Covid helped me a lot with that".

Dating life:

Nick Kyrgios has dated 4 girlfriends.

Ajla Tomljanović, a Croatian tennis player from 2015 to 2017. Anna Kalinskaya a Russian tennis player for a short term in 2020, and Chiara Passari an Italian Caucasian from 2020 to 2021. He is currently in a relationship with a beautiful Greek women named Costeen Hatzi since 2021 to present.

Nick Kyrgios and Ajla Tomljanovic went their separate ways after Nick was seen leaving a London nightclub with two women in 2017. Ajla then deleted him from her Instagram page.

A journalist asked, "What was your experience of being in a relationship with him?" Ajla answered, "It's been a while since our relationship ended. Obviously I've always kept my relationship very private. I would like to keep it like that".

Nick Kyrgios and Anna Kalinskaya's short term relationship was sort of like a one night stand as he admitted that he sleeps with his fans. "Yes, in all seriousness if I’m not seeing someone it’s a weekly thing".

After they broke up, Anna Kalinskaya posted, "You're not a bad boy, you're simply a bad person" on her Instagram post. After a while she denied and backtracked her comments.

She then said that Nick Kyrgios is a "good person" and "did nothing". "He is a good person and I didn't mean to comment about him. I don't know why people think it’s about him. He is a great player and nice person" she added.

Nick's comment when they broke up was, "Nothing happened we just went our separate ways. Unfortunately, things didn’t work out. We had some fun memories" during an online stream. Anna's comment to her online fans on Instagram was, "We broke up. We aren’t friends".

The split of Nick and Chiara began after an argument that led to a police visit at their hotel in Adelaide.

Chiara accused Nick of cheating on her, and shared a photo on Instagram to show him in bed with a 'naked girl'. She then shared a photo of a shirtless and sleeping Nick, adding the caption: "That girl naked in bed with him isn't me by the way".

Nick denied Chiara's cheating claim and assaulted her in return.

"He love-bombed me for the first three months" Chiara told the Daily Telegraph, calling their relationship "toxic." She described him as being "manipulative" and said Nick was searching for things in their relationship "to use against me".

Chiara said her openness about the relationship "is not for attention, it’s for awareness". Adding, "why would I want to have attention on me from a story that makes me look weak and walked all over as I kept forgiving him and going back. It’s not for attention, it’s for awareness," she said.

Later on, Chiara gave a warning to Nick's new girlfriend Costeen Hatzi because of her experience with Nick.

According the the Daily Telegragh, Nick has moved on with a beautiful twenty one year old Greek beauty and interior decor blogger, Costeen Hatzi from Brisbane. Since meeting Costeen there has been a change in Nick's behavior.

According to sportskeeda, Nick first laid eyes on Costeen whilst he was scrolling through her business account on Instagram. The Australian tennis star ordered a mirror from Casa Amor where she was working and announced that it was "love at first sight."

He also identifies her that she is "the one" with a ring emoji every time on Instagram.

Nick explains to a reporter,

"It's been a very successful year, not only on the tennis court but just in general. I'm feeling really, really good about everything and just enjoying life".

"And meeting Costeen was probably my favorite moment, probably the best thing that's happened to me - and the year I've had as a highly motivated and highly pushed player, has been because of her. That's been my favorite experience".

"I just feel happier off the court, really just trying to be happy off the court - and that shows up on the court too. She's just the best thing ever and just makes me feel amazing, believes in my tennis and believes in me off the court too. We have such a good relationship." Nick told AAP.

Future plans with spouse:

Having already moved in to a 1.6 million dollar penthouse in Sydney and engaged, Nick and Costeen have plans of getting married and having 4 kids.

Which indicates that the bad boy Nick is serious with the influencer because she is a perfect match with her being the same background- a Greek and the same zodiac sign - a Taurus.

She may be younger than Nick but their family traditions will unite for many years to come.

basketball
1

About the Creator

Seni Haks

I'm Seni I'm a former copywriter and currently a published freelance journalist. My hobbies to the side is dancing and drawing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.