Unbalanced logo

Kamille is All Elite: A Look at the Possibilities

One of the longest reigning NWA Women's World Champions is officially signed to All Elite Wrestling

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
3

There were many months of speculation and rumors, but it's finally official: Kamille is All Elite!

This news pleases me to no end. Kamille is basically one of the top reasons why I watched NWA programming on YouTube. In fact, it was because of NWA that I learned about Kamille. When I first saw her, she was portraying that silent but deadly bodyguard role--similar to the late, great Chyna until became vocal in the Attitude Era's progression. Kamille was the villainous enforcer for then-NWA World Heavyweight Champion Nick Aldis, who is currently serving as SmackDown's General Manager, and she would later become the lone female member of NWA's super-villainous faction, Strictly Business, which was led by Aldis and also consisted of Kamille's real-life husband, Thomas Latimer.

One of my favorite moments from Kamille was her first official vocal promo, which was treated as a big deal considering her silent persona. I loved it so much, because despite the biographical touch, Kamille played up her arrogant heel demeanor to perfection, taking the emotion out of it and portraying Kamille as feeling that people didn't deserve to hear from her at all--until she, and she alone, would decide to speak. I knew it was a matter of time before Kamille became champion, and that time came on June 6, 2021 at When Our Shadows Fall, which saw her defeat Serena Deeb to capture the NWA World Women's Championship.

After capturing the title, Kamille would retain against a number of challengers, including Leyla Hirsch, Taryn Terrell, Chelsea Green, KiLynn King, Kiera Hogan, and legends such as Melina and Taya Valkyrie. The run also saw Kamille turn babyface, which I loved because I wanted to see a heroic side to her, and she played it very well. Kamille's run was very impressive: 813 days as the "one-time champ," with her run endig at NWA75 last August.

Kamille left NWA this January, and regarding rumors, it was between AEW and WWE. I remember wanting her in AEW a few years back because a lot of us wanted a dream match between Kamille and Jade Cargill. Part of me wanted to see Kamille on SmackDown so I could see the dynamic between her and Aldis. To be honest, though, I figured WWE wouldn't be the destination; I can't really see them utilizing Kamille correctly.

So Kamille is All Elite, and the wheels are clicking big time when it comes to how she'll be used and how she'll debut. One idea that's already in my mind is this:

Is there any chance that Kamille debuts as Mercedes Mone's attacker? It was a few weeks ago on Dynamite that Mercedes' interview was interrupted by the lights going out, and Mercedes being attacked under the darkness. It was made to look like Julia Hart was behind it, though I was recently told that they could have Kris Statlander as the attacker--either acting on her own accord or on behalf of current TBS Champion Willow Nightingale. Speaking of Willow, part of me hopes she's behind it. For one, their past, and secondly, I still say that between Willow and Skye Blue, they should have turned Willow heel. Plus Willow did tease it once a few weeks ago.

With this news of Kamille being part of AEW, I do have hopes that Kamille does debut as Mercedes Mone's attacker. It would fit that killer mentality of hers very well. However, I also thought of having Kamille as Mercedes' enforcer in the event that we get an actual heel turn from Mercedes, though while that would be quite epic, I don't really want Mercedes to go heel. Yet. It would also be awesome if Kamille targets Toni Storm and the AEW Women's World Championship, which Toni should have lost to Thunder Rosa, but that's another story.

With Kamille's signing, AEW has a lot of my hardcore favorites in their Women's Division, and the dream matches are a-plenty. I just know that Kamille will make one hell of an impact in AEW, and I'm very excited for her debut, whenever that moment comes.

fighting
3

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll16 days ago

    You would make a great manager for her. I do not watched Wrestling like I did when it first came out. I cannot keep up.

  • Philip Gipson17 days ago

    I sincerely enjoyed your story aboit Kamille. <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.