Unbalanced logo

Greatest sporting events in the modern era we never got to see

Doesn't matter which sport

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
stock photo of a basketball, no copywrite intended

No matter the sport, I absolutely love sports. Minus soccer, I'm sorry but I never can appreciate soccer no matter how hard I try. It's just not for me. Again, I'm sorry. Anyways throughout history there are some crazy matches that for one reason or another we were robbed of. Now let me explain which events I will be including, very simply these athletes would have needed to be active during these hypothetical events. So, for example I will not be discussing Bill Russell vs Shaq to see who the better center is. Or like, Mohammad Ali vs Tyson Fury. However, I will bring out the time machine for a future article if this article gets some good feedback.

Anderson Silva vs GSP

Probably one of the biggest MMA fights we never got to see. Anderson has to be my favorite fighter of all time. However there was a time I would have loved to see Silva get especially rocked. Especially when Anderson Silva was at his cockiest, I was praying GSP meet up with Silva and let GSP humble Anderson Silva. Sadly, we never got to see this super fight. Both men were; incredibly agile, lighting fast, great defense, top tier striking, great ground game. Both men checked off all the boxes you would want in an MMA fighter. Sadly due to GSP's injury plagued career, Anderson Silva getting knocked out by Chris Weidman and Silva never being the same after that, and I can only assume politics. We never got to see this amazing super fight in their prime. Maybe, we'll be able to see it in Belator sadly when both men are long past their prime and in desperate need for a paycheck. Kind of like any Chael Sonnen fight in the last few years, no disrespect to Chael but enough is enough. The same applies to any Tito Ortiz and/or Chuck Liddell fight, please stop.

Lebron vs Kobe

First and foremost, RIP Black Mamba. During the mid to late 2000's there was a very real chance that Lebron and Kobe could have met in the NBA finals. I feel like if we got to see this rivalry we would have been able to settle who really is the G.O.A.T behind Michael Jordan. And yes, I'm sorry to those who are offended but I'm a "Jordan is the GOAT" type of NBA fan. Let's move on. Now, to be fair to Lebron. His Cleveland teams back then were horrendous and how he brought them to the NBA finals is beyond me. Sadly if you ask me, even if we somehow got multiple finals runs, I doubt Lebron would have been able to beat Kobe's Lakers.

Shaq v Kobe

While we're on the topic of Kobe, why couldn't we have gotten a series of Shaq v Kobe after their break up? I hate to take away Dirk's first finals appearance, but too bad we couldn't have replace the Mavericks with the Lakers in the 2006 NBA finals. Now this is a series I genuinely don't know which way it could have gone. Also I don't know which narrative I would have liked better, Kobe beating Shaq and showing him and the rest of the world he didn't need Shaq. Or Shaq beating Kobe to prove the three-peat was Shaq's three-peat. I think I would have appreciated either storyline.

Ronda Rousey vs Cyborg

Yet another super fight we never got. Just as Silva v GSP we waited years, just for this fight to never happen. Prior to Holly Holm of course, Ronda Rousey was on an absolute tear. Ronda was unbeaten and the most dominant woman in the UFC. It really seemed like Cris Cyborg was the only woman on the planet capable of beating Ronda. However due to various steroid accusations from Ronda Rousey to Cris Cyborg and Cris Cyborg's inability to reach the 135lb weight, we never got this fight. Then after Ronda was knocked out by Holly and had her jaw broken, Ronda was never the same. Then she retired and signed with the WWE. Even though technically this fight somehow someway could possibly still happen. At this point after Ronda's boring time in the WWE, do we even still want a Ronda v Cyborg? The allure of this fight is long gone.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

culture
3

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.