Unbalanced logo

Clippers 2020-2021 predictions

Spoiler alter, we better redeem ourselves after the bubble season

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Clippers logo, owned by the Los Angeles Clippers

The 2019-2020 "bubble season" was probably singlehandedly the most disappointed I've ever been as a Clippers fan. Thank the heavens that season is finally behind us and Doc Rivers is no longer our head coach. The bubble honestly should've been our greatest advantage but it turned out to be our greatest nightmare. I honestly still don't know how we ruined that golden opportunity for our team specifically. However, that's behind us now let's look ahead.

My biggest concerns

It's funny to me that during the lob city era we couldn't get a viable small forward, now for the life of us during this Clamp City era we're struggling to get a point guard. However I do have faith that Tyronn Lue that maybe that won't be a problem. Maybe we can develop some plays that actually involve the whole team sharing the ball so instead of praying we can pick up a floor general that averages 9 or 10 assists a game, we can teach all of our players to average 4.5-5.5 assists per game. Something Doc would never do because he believed in the archaic "play your position and never expand your game" mindset. If our players can manage solid ball movement while keeping our turnovers to a minimum our play will be solid.

No surprise even with a shortened season from 82 games to 72 games, I'm still concerned about our teams health. I doubt load management will change for the better in any way this upcoming season. I predict Leonard will only play 60 games.

Why to stay positive

First and foremost not only is our dynamic duo back, but at least one half specifically Paul George is here to stay after his contract extension (if he earns it). We'll see about Leonard if he's really committed to stay for good at the end of this upcoming season. And we've only lost one major key piece to our team, that being Harrell. Traitor, just kidding. I am very intrigued by the Nicolas Batum pick up. I am very well aware his years in Charlotte were forgettable, however his years in Portland are still very fresh in my mind. Plus as a veteran minimum, if this experiment doesn't work then who cares? But boy am I looking forward to Serge Ibaka to finally be a Clipper and be reunited with Leonard. I LOATHED Serge when he'd play against us during his Oklahoma City run. Especially when he'd get into scrums with Blake Griffin for no reason. However, if there's a phrase that sums up Serge Ibaka it's "You hate when you have to play against him but you're grateful when he plays with you". And then of course maintaining our core for the most part of guys like; Patrick Beverly, Lou Williams, and Zubac. Lastly, if all else fails. Have faith in Jerry West.

My general predictions

Very simply I can see us taking a step back. We'll still be top 4 in the west at least maybe top 3. But it will be a very close race. If this was a regular 82 game season, I could see us winning between 50-54 wins. That is roughly a 61-65% of games won. For 72 games, that would roughly be 43-46 wins, let's just make it an even 44 wins next season. Now on to the playoffs, I've yet to see anything that can convince me we'll escape the 2nd round curse. However, the coaching change. I'll just wait and see; if Tyronn Lue just becomes Doc 2.0 I'll enjoy the first round as best as I can and then pack my bags during the 2nd round. If he's not, then I really don't know just how far we can go. Overall though I am very excited for this season. Let's hope they do well.

basketball
2

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.