Unbalanced logo

Bears tenderfoot WR Velus Jones on age concerns: 'Not going to prevent me from running past individuals'

By Luke Crandall

By CrandallPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

With a generally slight wide beneficiary corps having lost Allen Robinson, the Chicago Bears expected to reinforce the position bunch this offseason.

In this way, when they took only one wideout in the 2022 NFL Draft and it was a 25-year-old, the examination immediately stacked up.

For said 25-year-old Velus Jones, however, the cynics are not will won't stop him - - nor will restricting safeguards.

"Individuals discuss it, yet it don't make any difference," Jones told NFL Network's Adam Rank as of late on The Sick Podcast when inquired as to whether he was shocked individuals appear to be so hung up about his age. "I'm a hotshot toward the day's end. I understand what I can do. Me being 25 years [old] won't prevent me from running past individuals to score scores and stuff like that. I will be quick for quite a while, solid for quite a while and making plays for quite a while. Along these lines, it's truly superfluous."

However Jones, taken in the third round at pick No. 71 generally, isn't the ideal 21-or 22-year-old newbie, he actually flaunts 4.3 40-yard run speed and ought to likewise add a flash to the bring game back. He's falling off a genuinely noteworthy senior season at Tennessee where he pulled in 62 gatherings for 807 yards and seven scores. It was likewise his 6th school season, which makes sense of for what reason he'll be 25 as a freshman in the NFL.

Jones started his school days at USC and finished them with the Volunteers. The odyssey incorporated a redshirt season and a COVID-19 additional time of qualification.

"I never abandoned myself," Jones said. "Furthermore, it took me six years, red-shirted and afterward I took a COVID year. However, through that cycle, it wasn't in vain. I got an undergrad at USC and I likewise got a Master's. So I took, completely advantage. And furthermore consummated my specialty, too. In the event that I can return and do it over, I would not change anything."

Jones should change the personalities of the individuals who accept the Bears ought to have accomplished other things to give choices to second-year quarterback Justin Fields.

With Darnell Mooney the main collector near a laid out maker in the NFL positions, Jones is ready to seek beginning reps with any semblance of Byron Pringle and Equanimeous St. Brown.

Jones is a genuine devotee that the timing is ideal for him with the Bears and is ready to demonstrate it.

"In this way, with the present circumstance and how I was raised, I experienced childhood in a congregation and everything, God-timing is incredible luck," Jones said. "I went through a ton of deterrents, you realize I needed to overcome a ton of chances, to get where I'm at right up to the present day. Everything occurs for an explanation, I generally express that in each meeting. So the way in which I feel about it is, on the off chance that I was quite early on, Year 3, and I went to the association. I wasn't so experienced as I am presently."

Development likely could be one for the in addition to segment, thus also could be mileage. However Jones has a bigger number of years on him than most new kids on the block, he doesn't really accept that he has more mileage.

"What's more, I can likewise say I never had any significant wounds in school," Jones said. "Just thing I had resembled a boxing break and a high lower leg sprain. Never broke a bone, never had a medical procedure in my life. In this way, truly I have the group of like a 21 or 22 year old. Then, at that point, a few people that have a ton of wounds in school and that you know will take discipline in the NFL, yet I'm sound as, similar to a child horse. I'm solid as all get outs. That truly is superfluous, you know individuals going to discuss it. I just have some control over what I have some control over, so they can simply remain tuned on that."

Remain tuned to check whether the 25-year-old youngster disproves the Bears right and the cynics.

football
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.